You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Blockchain Team Update: AppBase, RocksDB, Bandwidth, HF20, SMTs, and more!

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

drive space on static storage wont last for the rewrites very long. nor easily hold the blockchain on telephony devices for now, its possible to frankenstein up an android to do it probably, but not wise, yet... then there's the bandwidth if not wi-fing it. Bet we can within two years tho. A small laptop could do it right now.

If there was a cell-net protocol to distribute processing on many cell phones you might be onto something, that I believe is done with malicious mining scripts now.

Sort:  

Yes yes yes. Actually, I just saw a protocol claiming 1million transactions per second. It's used for something else, but the first thought that jumped in my head was "Hmmm... telephone calls?" I got goosebumps. I wonder if one day there could be a blockchain tel-net or cell-net or something like that. You're right, some of the mining scripts already play with the distributed processing idea. Someone would have to be able to patch all of the concepts together.

Out of curiosity, are you able to specify the protocol?

I sensed a disturbance in the force, and suspect that actual decentralization beyond the ISPs and WWW providers might be potentiated were distributed servers nominal to directly network.

Little could do more to preclude censorship, commercial hijacking of content, or secure free speech.

Thanks!

I think it's the new credit protocol. But there's 4 others I know of clocking between 1M per second and 1M per day. Average of credit I think is 3 seconds. I have to check. But if you go check out my twitter at Maybornstar I retweeted a few. There's also 2 texting apps. I'm trying to monitor these for the same reasons. Lol

Thanks for a cool reply!

a blockchain on cellphones, now that would be decentralized