You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are You Seeing the Truth? What Is Your Vision of Steem?

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Thank you for the comments. I found them illuminating.

trying to convince people not to down vote because they dislike someone, or disagree with what they are saying or talking about

We do agree on this at least.

Sort:  

That is my biggest issue and always has been. I've seen people say they were doing it to protect the reward pool so they didn't appear to be doing it for dislike reasons then have watched them ignore or in cases up vote other content that if it were reward pool reasons they shouldn't have been up voting and potentially should have been down voting. This made me mostly view the reward pool excuse as a way to try to justify inconsistent application based upon even their own voting habits.

I've only been heavily down voted one time. That also came long after I'd mostly stopped talking about the subject. When I was talking about the subject it was always in defense of others. It was truly about trying to make steem a hospitable and inviting place.

I'd watch the conversations and see the toxic reactions people would have when their post was voted to almost nothing (sometimes was nothing) when it was not spam, it was not plagiarism, it was not abusive, and it happened to people when they were barely touching the reward pool.

Often they were pretty new. Then you can look at the people that get targeted clearly by bots designed to down vote everything they do by some powerful people and that doesn't send a positive perception about steem at all.

Do I have a solution? No.

Every solution I come up with in my head either introduces other problems, or I can easily see how to game.

That's part of the challenge of doing something no one has ever done before. It also introduces problems people haven't encountered before.

Thanks for the response. I haven't seen you write anything for awhile, but I suspect it is mainly because we are moving in different circles.