Hi Again, Steem!

in #steem4 years ago

Hi Steem!

Hi all! It's been a while since I've posted on Steem. I needed a little break from all things steem-related for a little while, but now I'm back.

I may begin posting more here, but for now I wanted to point you at my self-hosted blog at https://sneak.berlin. I've been writing a lot more there, and you might be interested in some of the things I have to say there. They line up a lot with the reasons I got involved in Steem for the first place. It's entirely possible I may end up crossposting everything there over here.

It also still supports a feed, if you use Feedly or some other RSS/Atom feed-consuming tool to fetch new posts.

Social Censorship Opt-Out

https://sneak.berlin/social/

Additionally, I've been slowly exiting censored, surveillance-based social media in general. I deleted my Instagram account two days ago, and it makes me quite sad, but these censorship platforms are ultimately bad for our society and our freedom. Every time we post on censorship platforms or grant them our attention, we enrich them and endorse them to our friends and families, and that's dangerous. I wrote more about these sorts of problems a few days ago.

I encourage you to avoid any censorship- or surveillance-based social media, for the reasons in that post. (If you're on Steem, you're probably already doing this!)

Keep In Touch

If you're interested in keeping in touch, I have started an email list—one of the last remaining widespread push-based systems on the internet that isn't widely censored (provided you check your spam folder).

Enter your email at https://sneak.berlin/list and I'll mail you 3-4 times per year with information of interest and value. For a lot of my content, this list is the only place I'll be posting it now that I have entirely de-Facebooked my life.

I'm also posting occasionally on the decentralized ActivityPub Fediverse (which you might know as Mastodon or Pleroma) as @[email protected] and I encourage you to follow me there if you use ActivityPub. :)

Be well!

-sneak

Sort:  

Welcome back! I hope you will have a long stay.

Thank you to Justin sun for bringing you back

Hey man! Hope all has been well on your end since Lisbon 2017 (whoah, that feels like half a life-time ago, in crypto-years anyway).

Interesting time to be seeing you around ;).

mal schauen wie lange uns die Blockchain noch erhalten bleibt..

trotzdem: Willkommen zurück :)

DIAF!

lol jk welcome back man, been seeing you on twitter now and then. Hope you're well!

Welcome back @sneak!

Welcome back ;)

Hi to you too sneak

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey, you picked an interesting time to come back to Steem. Your old boss has been busy making deals. I really hope it does not break up the community we have built.

I still follow various blogs via RSS (using Feedly). Seems that has gone out of fashion, buy running your own blog is the only sure way to keep your data to yourself. I just don't have time to do that and be on Steem.

Hope things are good with you and you are still rocking.

Good to see you around. I've added your RSS feed, eager to see what you have to say / are working on over the years to come.

You thought you could just sneak back here, eh?

I know that wasn't a good pun, sorry.

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment