You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEM Community Tokens

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

What are you refering to when you say UIA? do you mean IOU? If so these tokens are not IOU,
they will be currencies of their own and if communities can do everything we do without using steem then I don't see why they will be using steem and how it is going stay relevant.
I don't think it would be unwieldy,how so? I think it would be trivial to add pairing with BTC. Another thing is that these tokens will evolve and will be directly competing with steem because they will effectively doing the same thing. In my opinion they should be careful implementing this unless they have a concrete and solid plan to keep the STEEM token valuable.

Sort:  

Sorry, UIA stands for user issued asset, basically tokens that can be created by anyone on blockchains like OpenLedger or Ethereum.
The way I'm envisioning it is that these tokens simply convey ownership and probably governance rights for communities. They're the trustless blockchain manner of managing things. Instead of pairing up with a few friends and scratching out a paper that says you each own 25%, you create 1000 tokens and give each founder 250.
The community should still pull from the Steem rewards pool, it'll be Steem based, creating tokens/paying for community bandwidth should cost Steem. I see tokens as share certificates.
It's similar to the recent offering of the ZAAPL token. Token holders stand to gain dividends or share appreciation solely on the volume of activity and content passing through their community. ZAAPL does nothing to detract from STEEM, only enhance it.

I could be wrong but from what I understood these tokens will have their own reward pool which is why I was a bit concerned.
If the influence and all the money distribution is done with steem I have no problem with these tokens but like i said my understanding was that for example food will have a foodcoin and people will power up their foodcoin to get more influence within the food community. Please correct If I'm wrong.