Overinflated Value of Steem

in #steem8 years ago

I'm wondering what dollar value for Steem is used when the total amounts in our Wallet section is calculated. I have 8.329 steem power and 0.05 steem dollars and no steem. The current value of steem is $0.942, so I should have a total wallet worth of $7.90. Instead it shows that I have $11.44. That's 45% higher than it should be. Now, at first I thought that the wallet just needs a little time to keep up with the market value. But for over a day now the value of steem has been under a dollar, yet my wallet uses a value substantially higher than a dollar.

Is someone trying to underplay how fast steem is loosing value right now? Just asking, maybe it's not true.

Sort:  

I think it uses the internal price which is a 1-week rolling average. So it will over-estimate when the price has decreased and under-estimate when it has increased in the last week.

I see. Thank You. Still, I think that for something as volatile as a cryptocurrency, something more recent than a 1 week average should be used.

It may use the price listed on steemd.com but thats just a guess.