Shilling Other platforms and dual witnessing

in #steem6 years ago

We have seen a lot of this over the course of a year and even more so now with ONO and EOS getting closer to launch. I have seen some people switch almost completely to shilling other platforms who used to be the same ones pushing steem hard, all the while talking about “community”. In some circumstances it comes across as selling out one community to push another.

Now I am all for new platforms appearing and using them etc but it comes across as tacky when its just hard core shilling for different platform. I have seen some who were all “steem community” power down a lot and even lease out steem to bots while getting involved in other communities while bashing steem in one form another.

Its not the fact that they may prefer a different platform over this one or even that they would leave steem or power down but the insencerity of their actions specially after talking about how “community” based they are. Their actions and what they are doing is helping undermine a community they say they used to support while jumping to another.

There are also witnesses who are pushing hard into both. One blog post from @donkeypong here has some good comments from witnesses pertaining to this. I am sort of lenient on the issue because to me its the Wild West of crypto but it brings up some interesting points and I can imagine some conflict of interests or gaming the systems etc. I also dont know if its wise to “centralize” witnesses in different systems. It then becomes different systems run by the same people and increases the conceptual centralization since the same people see things the same even in different systems. I also can imagine all sorts of subtle price collusion and inside information that could be used to massive advantage in many ways.

I have no hardline stance on any of this and I myself will end up trying out some other platforms etc I’m sure, I just know some of the shilling came across as tacky and desperate to me.

What are your thoughts? I am curious as to what you see or think on this issue. Do you think it hurts the platform? Do you think its good for crypto? Or do you just not care?

Sort:  

I’ve done it & I’d do it again. I’d never push something I didn’t believe in for financial gain.

The social Blockchain scene has been dominated by Steem for as long as I’ve known about it & it’s about time we got some healthy competition. (It wasn’t until @dan mentioned that he’d support an eos based social platform that the real push behind SMTs & communities came to the surface.)

Looking at the normie platforms, Facebook dominates and continues to do so by adopting the ideas that others bring to the market.

As for cross platform witnesses, I guess that’s down to the stakeholders to decide whether that’s a conflict of interest.

DPOS witness tribalism is strong, very strong. Centralization is an interesting way to classify it.

My issue with it is in how many systems can a (top) witness be effective and work for the system and community at the same time.

I will seriously reconsider my Top 20 witness votes once the other platforms launch and I notice witnesses campaigning even harder in the new(er) communities, which means they dedicate less time us.

At that point I will also consider whether they DP or even short Steem.

People are going to excitedly write about whatever it is they're excited about at the time. Being burnt out over various issues at steem (the code this, system allows that, selfish greedy maximisers etc etc etc) is possibly causing some people to suffer grass is greener syndrome/look at new things with hope that it doesn't have all the things wrong that they're perceiving in this one.

I don't think it's a bad thing as it prevents resting on laurels and hopefully this project continues strongly. Some of these new things may just collapse and die in the end or never really take off, some may do better, and some will just be there.

And obviously EOS is a pretty hot topic as there's a discussion going on in one of the channels I hang out on regularly as I'm typing XP

goatsig

I see a lot of the shilling going on. You know I had not heard of that world until I came on steemit; shilling. I think that there a lot of issues to this shilling of other platforms similar to steemit.

For one, if the same persons who rule the roost here are going to be on those other platforms in the same position that they occupy on steemit, then the owners better have long term goals to overcome the damage that gaming the system would cause. Steemit was an experiment, it was school for the uninitiated. Now the graduates will hit hard on these platforms. They better be prepared. It would have been better if they sought their users from the large number of people who are yet to register on steemit or any of the apps on the steem blockchain.

There is this sentiment that steemit will go the way of MySpace and whatever is coming is going to be facebook. Everyone keeps forgetting that the blockchain tech is decentralized which means upgrading, developing, restructuring the system is not a board meeting. Developers will continue to develop new ideas and better ways to better utilize the platform. If that is the case, I do not see steemit falling by the way side. So if steemit.inc is putting experience to good use, these new platforms are in for stiff competition. Are they prepared for it? But then again, if witnesses and whales are shilling other platforms, what advice are they giving those platform owners? What information are they sharing? Is there nothing like industrial espionage?

Those moving to other platforms will have to sell their stake so they can buy stakes of these new platforms. This means that some large holders are dumping steem. What does this mean? Would it affect the price of steem or does it mean that new investors can get on the system? Stakeholders with better plan on how to grow the platform than what we have now?

Whatever the case may be, an account with high rep who decides to move to another platform after making so much money on steemit, after bashing steemit as terrible, takes the risk of losing real life reputation because if you can do it once, you can do it twice and that builds distrust even from those who own the platforms the account is shilling for presently.

I would love to try other platforms, if to see how they perform against steemit in terms of tech, speed of growth, coin price, app development and whale movement.

It would be good for steemit to have some competition, it will keep them on their toes and ensure that they put out developments that will encourage users to keep enjoying the platform but shilling other platforms and getting upvotes for it, is just sad. Truly.

I think it would be a shame to leave steemit as it's still in it's infancy. There is so much potential here, I'm sticking around for the long run. I have signed up for a couple of other crypto-based platforms but I don't think I've so much as logged in to any of them for at least a month now.

Long live steemit. Shill away, shillers. Steemit will survive! :D

In my opinion any platform on Crypto is really welcomed and this inturn good for us as Crypto Enthusiasts but i want to say one thing, there can be many reasons regarding the power down and specially it can be paying of bills, but if people are thinking leaving this platform they will go and associate with other platform just because other platforms are so hyped, every project is good but everything is driven by human beings and to associate with an project and to stay on particular platforms there are many aspects, but just think we have the running platform and it's not still stable then how you can over believe on different platform which still not launched and in my opinion every platform is for trying, so let's hope that everything will be fine but Steem will move forward. Thanks for sharing this post with us and wishing you an great day. Stay blessed 🙂

I really have nothing against shilling, be it a platform or an associated crypto. Although I have come across few people who are just promoting something else on steemit.
To have shilling in the mix with other things is actually cool but to only shill something else on steemit while adding nothing else of significance is kind of ............... like cheating.

Sooner or later other platforms will come up and a lot of people from steemit would be on them shilling our platform on theirs. So there has to be a balance I guess.

It makes me sad that a platform with such huge potential to change lives (looking at it from an African perspective) is immaturely dying. I am only a year old steemian and I have seen and extrapolated on the margins of how far this platform can change 'our' lives and I can't help but smile.

BUT. That is if the whole community atmosphere returns. An online global society that uplifts efforts of others. It will require more manual cruising than the piloted bots. A connection between who is posting and who is admiring that post.

Those are just but the dreams of a minnow.

But that's the thing these things lie in the hands of the individual! Only if you participate in the communities you care about, keep people from leaving the platform and keep encouraging them then you can make a difference :)
I wouldn't say that Steemit is immaturely dying, at least to me it just seems like the start. I'm pretty sure that this platform will be around for quite a while and it's only going to grow more, the more attention it (and it's communities) manages to attract.

having other alternative crypto social networks like steemit is good for the systems because it will breed better competitions that will also lead to more robust innovations and improvements of these platforms. I believe crypto social network is going to change and transform social interactions and engagement which will leads to better reward systems for their users @steemitadventure

I do not care about other platforms.
Because I just love steemit.

That's funny -- you went the myspace route. My brain keeps thinking friendster -- both equally buried.

This place has so much potential. I don't think it is so much a development issue as much a multiple society issue. We are a world that runs on money.

And where there is money there is greed and crime because we are just not yet advanced enough to just be (as a group).

That being said -- I wouldn't trade this place for the world. There are good folks here. Even if some of us ebb and flow.

I think everyone does with their money and with their time whatever they want, for something they earn it not? With what I disagree is that these decisions affect Steem or its users, when basically here was where they were born, grew, and is what is giving them to live I think we should be more grateful in this

Hi there, great post. I am impressed by the number of people around Steemit platform which actively wants to discuss improvements to it, and clearly have mindful concerns regarding its inner mechanisms - including bots, whales, and witnesses -. I am particularly new around and had some sound discussion with @thoughts-in-time , I suggest we all read his post (link is here), and the discussion following to it.

I also comment somewhere about the same, with another three interesting posts to read:

" as a new user ( three weeks ) unlimited editing was "The First" thing I realized would make a lot of sense to implement in Steemit platform.

Another VERY IMPORTANT UPDATE, in my opinion, is the implementation of something to work as a bot-killer. Bots are a plague around here. Something like an App for human-user identification (like a GoogleAuthenticator key) would help a lot to get real-votes promoting really good content.

I've been reading about it... there are some nice post about bot-killers, for instance, I live the links for you all, in case you want to read a bit about that: link 1 - the best solution. Link2. Link 3. "