Sort:  

Thanks for this great post, just our luck that I'm kinda a tech savvy, promise that when I rise to the top I will definitely pursue that position, but for now I have a lot to learn. Thanks a lot.

Great post. It's just what I need to know about. It's my first day here and i'm learning a lot. Hugs!

Same as me too

Great, now I learned what steem witness is. Every day learning something new :D

Now, this is a really good read. As I am using the bidbots to promote my posts, I noticed that the owner of the bidbots usually ask for a witness vote. So, if the bidbots are much hated by the community, should the bot owners be allowed to become witness?

very useful information, you learn me a lot, thanks you

Steemit guides is a gem of an account! I have a question, does this mean that you could buy many accounts and proxy the vote? Could that be abused?

as of right now, there is no limit set in place! You can buy an anonymous account and also proxy vote at this moment

I guess I didn't realize that your Steem Power is the main cause. By the way I love what you do I mostly share educational resources so we're right in the same niche

Not sure how much I understood from this post. But its my 30th day now in steemit. Continuously learning new things. New topics every day most of which are Greek and Latin to me. Looks like there is still a long way to go. All I need is patience and consistency.

Thanks. I was never quite sure about what a Witness is.

Thanks for being this much informative.

Thanks for explaining this!

Thanks great article. Had trouble understanding the concept of witnesses till I found this. Thanks

Not everything is understood, but the basic meaning grasped. Thank you..

thank you

This really answered my question, always wondered what a witness was.

This sucks what about people like me that are not tech savvy and popular who wants to be a witness. (x_x)

Someone could stil vote for you :) Just put the word out and see?

Finally a good article clearing doubts of many people

But really, how do I tell witnesses apart?
I'm supposed to vote for 30 of them right? There's hundreds, and all are nothing more than a @agkjasd anonymous string of letters to me. They are all presumably responsible nice people, or they wouldn't have been voted witnesses in the first place. And reading a bit about a few of them, they all seem dedicated and believe in the future of steem. How do I choose?

I assume they all are somewhat different from each other in how they see steem developing in the future... but nowhere can I find this info. Kind of like what politicians would call a "platform". What are their platforms? Do I have to interview each one of hundreds myself, one by one?

For instance, what about the "whale wars" going on, how does each witness stand on that?

I'm also in the same confusion. I don't get much from this post on witness and things. Hope as the days go and we keep exploring there will be clarity on these topics. However, your question on how we choose from an anonymous list of users and vote them is still open in my mind as well.

I did see this witness make a post about himself that told us some of that info, just yesterday
https://steemit.com/@teamsteem

@steemitguide I am still in confusion why the need for witness. Thanks got this post

The more I understand this system the more I realise Steemit is magnificent!
Thanks for this informative post :)

Thank you for a great clarifying article on what a steem witness is.

It is heart breaking to see such a wonderfully researched/written topic have this low upvote. I just think you deserved more for this post.

Thanks man! Appreciate all that I get from Steemit :)

Thank you! A very clear explenation.

I was curious as to what a witness was! I found this artical very useful and helpful. I'm new to the community and I love what steemit has to offer and I'm excited to learn

I am thinking about becoming a witness. Not right now but as soon as I can. Thanks for the info here.

Thank you for sharing this great post of valuable information about the witness system here. I wonder if it is a difficult task to maintain such a position. I guess I will be keeping an eye out for the leaderboards now.

So I just did the math, and at least based on these old numbers, a witness has the potential of earning over $1,300 a day -- assuming he produces a block every 21st round, and a block is produced every 3 seconds.

Does this still hold true today? If so, that seems like an awfully lot of money. Perhaps I am doing my math wrong. Do you have current stats?

Very usefull post! Thanks! I am new, so this kind is priceless ;)

good work

Thank you for this important explanations.

It would be helpful to have a link to this article on the witness voting page!