Steepshot releases new feature allowing creators to post short videos.

in #steem5 years ago

Hello, Steemians!

log

Today we are happy to announce that Steepshot releases videos. As far as we know a lot of users wait for this feature to be added. We hope that this new function will encourage users to become more creative and express their lifestyle in a more effective way.

How to post a video?

To upload a video or record a new one, first tap at the bottom of the screen:

  • To upload a video from your phone's library, first tap Video tab then choose Library (iPhone) or Gallery (Android) on the left side of the screen and select the video you'd like to share.
  • To record a video, tap Video at the bottom of the screen. Tap and hold to start recording, and lift your finger to stop. You can tap and hold again to record multiple video clips and tap to switch between cameras.

Keep in mind that the maximum video length is 20 seconds. But there is a chance that it will become longer. Now we just test this feature. Also you can't take or upload videos from a desktop computer.

We are very excited about this new storytelling and hope that you will fully appreciate our work and enjoy the ability to create captivating mini videos

Of course, we know that there are some bugs, but we hurried a lot to make it possible for you to upload videos on Steepshot. In the nearest future after this test start, we will prepare a set of bug fixes, be patient and stay tuned!

iOS TestFlight

Unfortunately not always the App Store approves our updates on time, and this day is not an exception. It means that now iOS Steepshot app with the latest features is still under review.
But we continue updating it and for those who are interested in TestFlight, please send your requests with the words "Please add me to iOS TestFlight " to our email [email protected]

Social Media

If you have any ideas, questions or suggestions, please, find us on social media. Choose your favorite way to connect and tune in to Steepshot life.

Steepshot_framed.png

Steepshot_framed.png

source

1.png

2.png

3.png

4 copy 2.png

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

woohoo! this is soooo coool! gonna make a video neow!

@steepshot app is not available on play store... Tried a bunch of times. Is this a known issue as of the moment?

you can download it directly to your phone from https://alpha.steepshot.io/browse . In the very bottom bar of the page, there is a playstore icon. Click on it an it will download the com.droid.steepshot.apk file. Once downloaded on your phone, click on it to install. I am not sure why its not on the play store now, it has been like that for a few days.

Yessss!!! @steepshot

I have been waiting for this for ages, in fact just asked about it in last post reply, this is great news, you guys rock. now we can show off some other creative works. Glad you guys will also increase the time, I think 30 seconds is ample for any short video.

Keep up the great work,
Happy Steeping :-) (or is it steepshotting?)

What?????

Yip, all true, just having some issues though, so not working properly as yet. Apparently they are working on fixing issues.

Been waiting for this mann!!

That's awesome. This looks like instagram.

This is a great update! I'm not currently using Steepshot to post photos or videos myself, but I hope to see some cool videos in my feed from now on out :) Keep up the great work!

This is goodnews. I saw someone earlier today uploaded a video on steepshot and I was like, Is this for real? Steepshot! Though I tried opening it and it didn't work.
But I'm sure this is a certainly going to be fun, can't wait to test this.

I really surprise about that! Great feature. I really like this DApp Steepshot. Congrats Team! 👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽

Seems to be a step in the right direction. 20 Seconds are 10 less than what whatsapp offers in example. I am adamant that you will be able to make the needed devs. to improve the feature. I will test it the next days.

I uploaded my 1st steepshot video via Samsung and works well on mobile. I noticed the video will not play on desktop though. Glad you added video capability ! Keep up the great work.

Absolutely fantastic, I can't wait!

Much success!

Lovely day Steemians! :)

keep @steemit On! :)

sweet. 30 seconds is a good sweet spot on deep enough video to highlight without clipping due to lack of available recording time. Gonna check it out and get my creative video game on :)

Keep Being Awesome,
One Tech Traveller

this is so cool! i cant wait for the iOS version

Hello. Read this post on how to request the app through Test Flight.

@steepshot
HELLLOOOOOOOO!!!!!! ANYBODY OUT THERE!!!!!! YOUR APP IS MISSING FROM PLAY STORE!!!!

yes sad story!

Sad indeed, I have given up.

I unfortunately uninstalled the app at the wrong time, I have since moved on to @partiko - only wish they could add more tag option. I think that was the good thing about steepshot you able to add up to 20 tags.

Partiko is also an abandoned project that needs to be bought or forked, luckily aggroed may do it perhaps.. MAYBE no promises, but steem engine needs a mobile app to integrate with!

Wait. What? @partiko is abandoned? Really. That's concerning. Was not aware of this news.

Yes same here

Posted using Partiko Android

@steepshot Oops! Any Update on progress?

Still have black screen on videos and now I can't upload any post including normal photos. How is the update going, I tried uninstalling and re-installing still cant post anything.

Just checking in to see the progress, only thing is now i cant post anything :-)

Hello. We are already finishing the update with the main fixes. It will soon be available for download, we will notify.

@steepshot
Thank you, you guys doing a great job, all excited for the fixed up version. have a great sunday.

We miss you from the playstore! Please come back asap ;)

@steepshot HELLOOOOOOOO!!!! ANYBODY OUT THERE????

That's great! But please fix the errors with the photo uploads. Since this version I am not able to select a saved photo from my phone and upload it. Once I click on the arrow, it closes and I get back to the home screen. Sometimes uploads also take super long, until nothing happens. Apart from that, the app is great and I enjoy using it! :)

Hello. We are already finishing the update with the main fixes. It will soon be available for download, we will notify.

That's great :)

Is there any update yet? When will it be fixed? I'm still not able to choose pictures from my phone and upload them :( I already cleared all the app data and the cache but it didn't help.

@steepshot
HELLLOOOOOOOO!!!!!! ANYBODY OUT THERE!!!!!! YOUR APP IS MISSING FROM PLAY STORE!!!!

I'm afraid this "project" is dead. The app was pulled from the app store and I'm having the same bug @marcelgoo is reporting. Can't post anything from my phone. 2 month is a lot of time.

@jdrincs
I gathered as much, so I have since given up on @steepshot - I am now using @partiko so far so good, seems it is he best option for posting from mobile device. Just wish they would increase the number of tags one can use, which was a great feature on steepshot that seemed to give more traction to posts.

Thanks for the info, I'll check it out.

Wow, exciting! I have been pondering in my mind when will @steepshot allow user to post video. And this is an excellent start. Congrats!

Thanks for information

Looking forward to testing it!
Of course resteeming 👍🇬🇷🏅

Hey, what's going on? Did @steepshot die? Anybody there?

Hi guys have been asking forever what is happening with the app that is not on Google play store? I had huge issues with the app when you guys did the video test. So I had to uninstall. But now the app is missing and o cant download to reinstall. This is so frustrating. I really liked steepshot and now am forced to use partiko. Can anyone answer me! :-(

Posted using Partiko Messaging

Hi guys have been asking forever what is happening with the app that is not on Google play store? I had huge issues with the app when you guys did the video test. So I had to uninstall. But now the app is missing and o cant download to reinstall.

This is so frustrating. I really liked steepshot and now am forced to use partiko. Can anyone answer me! :-(

Posted using Partiko Android

that's actually pretty sick! :) how do i get this from you ASAP! :)

This is goodnews. I saw someone earlier today uploaded a video on steepshot and I was like, Is this for real? Steepshot! Though I tried opening it and it didn't work.
But I'm sure this is a certainly going to be fun, can't wait to test this.

This is amazing. You're still my favorite Steem app!

uhhh ohhhh okay that sounds interesting!
I will test it out these days and tell my followers what I think about this :)
super cool that you got inspired by @nathanmars and the #dtubesnap "movement" (?)

Peace !

#engagetogrow

Super excited for the App Store to approve this feature!! (:

Posted using Partiko iOS

That’s awesome! Will be testing it out soon! 🙌🏼🙌🏼🙌🏼

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah I would love to usecthis video feature except not uploading at all. I'm sure things will get fixed. Bad thing is I can't upload photos either! The app forcecloses.

This i s awesome. I want to be able to heaps more video stuff on Steemit. One suggestion would be to allow importing to DTube. That's for the future, but I think it's a good idea.

@steepshot do we need to re-install the app?

Our updates install on top of the current version (reistalled automatically), you don't need to worry. Just press to update.

After the update, during the file download phase, the application closes. I wanted to reinstall it, but it is not in Google Play. On android steepshot will no longer ?????

Thank you, will keep trying. just wondering if we are going to have to reupload, or will the vids automatically fix itself :-)

Al the best for the fixes.

@steepshot do you guys reward your users with an upvote?

Do you guys ever User test your application before deploy on mobile devices? Lots of rage quit issues with your iOS version.

Unsure if your aware of this issue! Would love the upvote for participating as QA on your team for sev2 iOS conflicts for product experience

https://steemit.com/steepshot/@theuxyeti/error-in-steepshot

I've received several upvotes from the Steepshot account over the past couple months. Do you use the #steeply tag at all? the Steepshot staff watch that tag for weekly curation.

As for the testing, I couldn't tell you. Not on that dev team.

aha! new info! thanks for sharing!

We are glad if you will take part in the testing and picking up the bugs. And in the future we can add you to the closed group for testers.

User test for free? No thanks

A great new feature!

A great turn of events. I am all for it! I can't wait till you all implement quick video uploads also from the browser and pc. I can see this become the next #vine with the right cards.

Muy interesante poder publicar vídeos desde @steepshot

The app is unavailable on the brazilian play store... Sad...

Posted using Partiko Android

I have the same problem, steepshit can not be found on the play store. I'm based in France, I had the app but it was bugging so I decided to remove it and install it to see if this would fix my problems. Unfortunately I could not find steepshot on the play store anymore!

Can you guys fix it?

Screenshot_20181120-063359.jpg

wow amazing great job

Downloaded and signed up today. Really impressive work! I'll probably #deleteinstagram any day now! 🤙

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @steepshot!
Your post was mentioned in the Steemit Hit Parade in the following category:

  • Pending payout - Ranked 1 with $ 383,15

This is freaking excited. I am about to go and test it out 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

You guys need a nice delegation. This is a great addition to your app.

Finally yessss!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm just wishing we can have folders for every content we upload on steepshot. Just like instagram highlights but I want it way better.

Yeah, that's cool idea, like photo albums.

Screenshot_20181109_013600.png
I'm getting same error when I'm uploading my photos....!

I have the same issue.

@steepshot where can I find the Android version? The link in the website shows removed .!! Can't wait to try the feature !! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm wondering the same thing. We need to get a group together and at least get them to address the issue. I've emailed them to ask [email protected] They need to at least tell us if they are going to release one or not. They haven't even tweeted this year yet.

it is still very difficult to post videos, I have tried a few times but have not succeeded, always failing to post, please immediately fix the bug

This will encourage a lot new content creators to participate in this platform. All social media platforms are adding video features now. Great work done.

ALRIGHT!! NOW I CAN POST MY SHORT VIDEOS ON STEEPSHOT.
NICE JOB!

Congratulations @steepshot! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!
There are 2 pages
Pages