An introduction to Steem

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

This post is intended to be an introduction to the Steem platform that I can share around other social media as a way to get some new people to join up. I welcome suggestions on how to improve it.

What is Steem?

You may have found your way to this post via a link I posted elsewhere. Steem is a cryptocurrency, like Bitcoin, that operates on a sort of database called a blockchain. A blockchain is very different to the way platforms like Facebook store their data. Nobody has full control over it. Any updates use digital signatures to prove who it came from and a set of 'witnesses' verify those transactions to ensure they are not fraudulent. Steem has hundreds of witnesses who earn some of the Steem cryptocurrency for their work.

Steem has some advantages over Bitcoin. Transactions are free and only take about three seconds. The Steem blockchain can hold much more than financial transactions. It can contain blocks of text, such as this post, and also custom messages that can be used in games and other distributed applications (AKA dapps).

Steem is traded on the cryptocurrency markets and so its value can fluctuate. In the two and a half years I've been on the platform it's varied between 6c and $8. Some people have made a lot of money on that variability, but this about more than just speculation.

Steem

Users of Steem dapps can earn a portion of a reward pool that is distributed each day based on how others vote on their content. A like on Facebook is nice to have, but what if it made you a few cents? The value of each vote depends on how much Steem the voter holds in 'Steem Power'. That's sort of like a savings account that you have to give notice to withdraw from. It takes 13 weeks to revert it all back to Steem that you can trade, but having it gives you influence and the potential to earn curation rewards.

What is Steemit?

Steemit Inc is a US company founded by @Ned Scott and his former partner @Dan Larimer. They fund most of the development of the Steem blockchain and run the Steemit web site that is the primary access point for the blockchain.

Steemit

You may have read that Steemit Inc have been struggling financially. This is at least partly down to a reduction in their income due to the fall in the Steem price and they had to let some staff go. Apparently these were not core blockchain developers, but it may delay the development of some features, such as communities. However the Steem community has taken on a lot of the burden of development and new dapps are appearing all the time.

What are other ways to use Steem?

There are numerous other front ends so you can choose one that suits your needs.

  • Busy is like a better Steemit with notifications and a generally better look.
  • Steempeak is more image-based and looks good for photographers to show their work.
  • eSteem provide apps you can run on your desktop or mobile device.
  • Partiko also have mobile apps, but I've not used them yet.

Posting via any of these gets your content onto the Steem blockchain where it can be seen by all users. There was news this week of a hacking group having their account blocked on Steemit, This may have been for breaking their terms of service, but it's still visible on the others.

What if I'm not a blogger?

Not everyone wants to write or read blogs. There are other options for them.

DTube is a video platform much like Youtube, but with the potential for any user to earn something and not just the top accounts with millions of subscribers. It's still in fairly early days and so it may not be as polished, but it's improving all the time.

DTube

DSound is the Steem equivalent of Soundcloud and is great for musicians to share their work and earn from it.

What if I'm a gamer?

There's also something for the games. The biggest game on Steem is currently Steem Monsters, where cards featuring various monsters can be put into battle against other players. You can buy a starter pack for $10 and then win more cards by achieving various goals. All the transactions for this happen on the Steem blockchain. Your cards are yours to sell as you wish and the rare ones can go for hundreds of dollars. I hear that some people make more from trading cards than they do from blogging, but you can of course blog about the game too and earn some more Steem to spend on cards.

Steem Monsters

Why should I use Steem?

Steem is an alternative to the big social sites such as Facebook, Twitter etc that mine their users for data so they can target ads at them. These platforms can ban or withdraw income from an any accounts they consider to be breaching their terms. Steem does not need ads, although some dapps use them to cover running costs, and you cannot be banned from the blockchain. Anyone can earn something there as long as they can find someone interested in what they do. Communities have formed around topics as diverse as gaming, running, knitting, art, writing and photography.

How can I track how I'm doing?

As the Steem data is all public anyone can use the data. There are numerous sites that present the stats in different ways so you can see where you support comes from. Here are some of them:

  • I use Steem Now all the time to see what votes I'm getting and what I will get when the posts pay out after seven days.
  • SteemWorld has even more stats.
  • Steemitboard can rank accounts by various metrics.

Are there down sides?

Steem gives you a lot of freedom and some will choose to abuse that. There are some trolls who attack others just because they can and some of them have enough Steem Power to do some damage. So you take a risk if you speak out. This can be a problem, but many will value this freedom.

Anyone can set up a business on Steem and the most prominent is the selling of votes. This results in posts 'trending' just because someone paid for it rather than because the community like them. We have a counter to that in the form of flagging, but it's a matter of whether the community wants to do this. It's an evolving economy and we are still finding out what works. I do not buy votes, but there are various projects that will support you if you work with them. You can delegate some of your Steem Power to them so they can support more people.

My advice is to mostly ignore the Trending page. Look up tags around your interests and find people who share them. Following a few of those should provide you with an interesting feed.

What can I do with the Steem I make?

As I have said, Steem is a cryptocurrency and can be traded for other coins. There are people selling goods and services for it, but this is still at an early stage. I have bought art, music, comic and guitar picks for Steem. If you want to spend it in regular outlets then you can get a card like Wirex that you can top up with cryptocurrency. They do not support Steem directly, but there are exchanges that will convert it to others. I have used this method to buy a nice guitar and a couple of foreign trips.

How do I join up?

The standard way to join has been via Steemit, but you may have to wait a while for your account to become active as they are supposed to be checking accounts are not being created to abuse the system. That has not always been successful. Each account has a cost associated with it and so there are services that will create an account for a fee. If you buy a Steem Monsters starter pack you get an account straight away.

As an alternative existing users with enough Steem Power can claim accounts that they can give away.I have built up a few and I'm hoping that some people who read this will be interested in having them. I'm going to be a little choosy as I want to see that you are producing good content on other social media so that I know you are going to add value to Steem. In some cases I will delegate Steem Power to new accounts so that they are able to do more to start with. If you are interested then please contact me. You can find me as steevc on various platforms, including Gmail.

What has Steem done for Steve?

I came to Steem out of curiosity in mid-2016. I was interested in the possibilities of cryptocurrency and how it could benefit people around the world, not just in the rich 'minority world'. Of course I saw the potential to earn something, but I have used many social sites just for fun. I enjoy the communities. I found some great ones on Steem. I have used some of what I made to attend the Steemfest events in Lisbon and Krakow where I found a great bunch of people from all around the world who really want to make a difference. It's not just about getting rich, but of course some will.

Steemfest

If you are reading this as an existing Steemian then I'd be grateful if you could say something about what Steem has meant to you and what advantages you see in it. This is an opportunity to sell the dream to others.

More information

I plan to write more posts with useful information for new users and I will add links here.

Links

  • The Welcome page has some tips for new users. The most important of these is to keep your keys secure. Print them out if necessary and keep that somewhere very safe.
  • The FAQ answers more of your questions.
  • On the Steemit menu (top right of the page) there are also links to the White Paper and Blue Paper. These go into some detail about how it's all intended to work.

Steem on!

I'm Steve, the geeky guitarist.
Sort:  

Steemit has been great. It is a fantastic creative outlet for me and it has allowed me to make some connections all across the world that I wouldn't have made in the past.

I got here in June 2016 and I've been back every day! The people are cool and there are lots of posts that you can learn something from, or get inspired from other people's stories.

You CAN make money here, and I have, but you'll need to engage with others and build a bit of a following. That probably won't happen overnight but the journey can be very enjoyable. Why not join us!

Looks useful. Might be worth defining 'curation rewards': Up to 25% of a post's payout is awarded to curators (the people who upvoted the post) as a reward for discovering the content. The other 75% is awarded to the author.

There's also a use in a 'now that you're a member' post that supplements the FAQ - a glossary, really. The FAQ assumes too much knowledge (or at least more than I had).

I should link to the FAQ. I'll add that. This post will remain a work in progress

Well now I know a bit more about who and how Steemit started.

I liked reading it but there are still words/shortcuts used I do read everywhere and I cannot find what they mean.

I use Partiko and it is a nice and friendly app. With my bad Internet connection it takes time to load too but its easier as using the browser.
It also rewards you for posting, commenting etc. These points can be used to upvote your own post by Partiko.

What does dapp means?

I have doubts about the Wires debit card. How common is it to use in Holland (or Europe)?

What is manna and mannabase?

Steem now does not work for me. It always says my 100% upvote is worth nothing, something I do not understand.

Well I will have a look at the FAQ again.

Posted using Partiko Android

I've not used Partiko, but it is popular. I use Steemit or eSteem and sometimes busy.

Dapp is distributed app, i.e. any app built on a blockchain. Partiko, esteem and Steem Monsters are examples.

Mana is related to resource credits. You need this to do anything. Various sites like steemd show what you have.

You need more sp to boost your vote. If you power up your Steem and Steem dollars it will be worth more. You need around 500 sp to give 1c, but voting a lot will run down your voting power. You can still vote on posts to give them a little more. It's probably not worth voting on comments as rewards below a certain level are not paid out (dust threshold is around 2c). Leave good comments and don't worry too much about voting for now.

Thanks for your explainations and tips, esp about the voting

Posted using Partiko Android

I can give accounts away too, I'm sure there are more of us than are willing to do the same. I have no other use for them other than to hand them out to people (for free) who are going to use them correctly.

Getting into @steemmonsters is a great introduction and is one of the recent success stories with the bonus of the free account as you say.

Feel free to share your SM referral link. Nobody has used mine yet.

Great one :)
There is even more to tell but I guess a novice will be confused with all that info. A link to steemapps.com .... to check them all and find something interesting :)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 1 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 10 SBD worth and should receive 261 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

This post has been included in the latest edition of SOS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.



Fantastic intro. I thought I didn't need to read it. Wrong, and as always new people come to this platform a good intro is necessary. Love the picture. Why all of you got a headphone? Because of simultaneous translation?

I tried to summarise how I see it. Others will see it differently. It's not perfect, but I still see the potential.

There were two stages in the same space, so they used silent disco headphones to we could choose which to listen to. There was another channel with Polish folk music :)

Got it. Thanks. Have a beautiful day @steevec!

This is great and I will definitely use it as a shareable link.

I am presently telling some of my comedy friends about this platform since they regularly share info on FaceBunk and Twitter.

Cool. Let me know if you need some accounts for them. I've got 14 right now and can claim a couple each week.

@firepower in the picture 😃

Nice article about the introduction to steem 😃

Hi, @steevc!

You just got a 3.81% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @steevc!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.850 which ranks you at #372 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 374).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 226 contributions, your post is ranked at #19.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Great article, thanks @steevc!

I Resteemed it, in case I’ll have energy to translate it to Italian... can I do it? (obviously, linking your blog)

Posted using Partiko iOS

You are very welcome to translate it. Feel free to improve on it and let me know anything I missed. I plan to keep updating it.