You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Who deserves more? Authors or curators?

in #steem5 years ago

I appreciate that those who invest to become high value curators are important, but if content creators do not earn then they will go elsewhere and then Steem in general loses value. Creating content requires an investment of time and possibly money too. It's like saying those buying shares in a company are more important than the product, but they are interdependent.

Investors have plenty of other options to make a good income from their money, but creators may be more limited.

Steem had great potential to get rewards to people who struggle to earn due to a poor local economy or other factors. If it is considered to just be a way for already wealthy people to make more then it will not grow. I think that is already a perception of it.

I've done okay from Steem, but I don't rely on it. I'm using what I've earned to help others and am not too worried about my curation rewards. I really don't want a 'Lambo'.

Sort:  

If the target audience for each create post is one person, then authors should earn more. If the target audience is 2, then 50/50 results in the creator earning twice as much as either curator. If the target audience is 100, then even 99/1 would result in the creator earning more than the curators. If the target audience is thousands and the rewards are 50/50 as proposed, then the creator would earn thousands of times what any curator earned.

So the question then is this... if the curators earn an adequate return on their stake from curating, will it help the creators reach a larger target audience and attain more votes?

Let's stop thinking of it as curator earning more than author on the basis of a single vote. For the curator it's a single vote, and their reward for giving it away instead of keeping it is totally inadequate. For the creator, it's one vote out of potentially thousands and if letting the curator keep more of it results in more than a 33% increase in total votes received, they should be jumping for joy about the changes.

I have a 100% expectation of earning more after the HF because I know that my quality is high enough to attract more than 33% more votes when curation incentives are improved. Is your quality high enough to attract more votes?

You have some points. It tends to be that one or two big accounts vote on some posts. It will be interesting to see how this changes their behaviour. I have no illusions about my own content. I have done well by making connections and I get a lot of automated votes. That could well change.