STEEM STORIES is Now A Medium Publication: Suggest A Story To Be Included

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

steem stories.jpeg

Yesterday I created a new Medium publication titled, Steem Stories because there is actually very little content on Medium about Steem, Steemit, Busy, etc. A number of us, @thecryptofiend, @chitty and myself plus a few others have written about Steemit on Medium, so I decided to create a place where people can find all our content grouped together. I'll be transferring a lot of SteemCenter Wiki articles to this Medium publication, too.

People who read a lot on Medium still look to that site for their information.

This will help legitimize Steem and bring it to an even wider audience. It looks strange when a big social media site has very little content on Medium. It makes it seem less legitimate. So, an idea I had was to hand-pick some of the most notable Steemit posts and have them copied to Medium, of course with the link below the article, and a screenshot showing the payout that each article received.

Also, I had the idea to start documenting the growth and development of the Steem blockchain, especially as more and more apps like Busy.org, Zappl, etc., are built and released. It will help people from mainstream understand that they have options besides Instagram, Twitter, etc. My hope is that it will bring greater awareness of Steem and the Steem blockchain. If you're a writer on Medium and would like to submit your stories, please do. If you want to be a writer for this Medium publication, post a link to your Medium article, and I'll add you as a writer.

If you're not sure how to submit a Medium story:

To add a unpublished draft to a publication, you must be in editing mode and a contributor for that publication.

Click the ... icon.
Click Add to publication.
Choose the target publication.
If you're an editor of that publication, you can publish immediately. If you're not, the editors of that publication will have a chance to review it and schedule for publishing.

To add a published post to a publication as a writer/editor, follow the same steps as above.

If you're not the author of the post, you must request the post for your publication.

I'll be contacting authors to see if they want to publish their stories over there, or if they choose not to, then asking permission to copy them over myself.

Here is a partial list of the articles I'd like to copy over to Medium:

  1. @guerrint's First Makeup Tutorial
  2. The highest grossing Steemit post: (Who wrote this, I can't remember...help please)
  3. All the best how-to Steemit posts that are still relevant. If anyone has a recommendation, please comment.

What articles do you think would be good to put into Steem Stories?

This question mostly applies to early adopters who have been here for a while.....so for each link you provide, please tell me why you think it would be a good one to include in Steem Stories. For each link provided below, I'll upvote you, which should be about $3 worth of Steem.

ok, go!

Click here to check out Steem Stories on Medium.

Sort:  

I read an article by a very funny writer a few days ago, she was talking of how she made 1Million dollars on steem in 3 months her take in her journey was very inspirational thiugh she says in the post her intent was not to inspire but share an awesome and entertaining account of her journey on Steem so far.

Steem is at $2 did you see me flinching! my favorite caption of all time on an meme. (she ends the article with it). I will look for the article and link it up here.

PS

I don't know the gender of the writer so i assumed he/she was a woman lol

yeah, i thought it was a woman also, from the photo, but it's actually a man....he's hilarious, and I'll be putting his story on there soon! @trafalgar is his name.

I don't know if this is what you are looking for exactly, but it was a very interesting story: https://steemit.com/drugs/@niann/the-first-time-i-was-invited-to-make-cocaine

i will take a look at that. thanks

An explanation of how steem and steemit work.

A review of all the blockchain concepts

A few stories indicating success on the platform @trafalgar comes to mind
and also saying that his may not be the way all people achieve success on Steemit but its quite possible

yes, i want trafalgar's story for sure...it was that good!

Its really amazing !

Rags to Riches story , even though this may not be the case for most of us it does speak volumes of the potential that Steemit has

well, he was already rich, which he admitted! On the other hand, I, started out with practically nothing. I earned all my Steem. My story is rags to riches.
When I joined on June 8, 2016 I had exactly 0 Steem and 0 friends. I came in alone. With nothing. I have earned everything.

Wow! But what about your work with Dash ?

I really must say its impressive, even though you still don't have a million usb yet :D

if Steem goes to $10 then i will be a Steemmillionaire....
Dash pays me very well. I am doing well. I'm a single mother well, what can I say, other than, I have to be the breadwinner.

Congratulations!!! :O Oh my god

And Steemit reaching 10$ is actually possible at the end of this year , WOW!
Congratulations! I hope you reach that and even more !

God Bless <3

This is one of the most important post by @krnel which lays the foundation and gives a clear line of thought to all the new members of the steemit community.

Excellent initiative, I wanted to ask you the following: Will you consider including articles in Spanish?. Many hugs, take care.

yes, of course! All languages are welcome. Are you on Medium already too?

ok i thought so....do you want to be added as a writer there?

It would be an honor for me, please. :)

yes, i have added you

Great Idea, I will be sending some of my stories to your publication!

ok great, I added you as a writer to that publication today

que interesante de verdad @stellabelle mi pregunta es? en esa pagina que tu acabas de mencionar uno puede publicar algun tipo de contenido en especifico o cualquier tema de relevancia, si entiendes lo que quiero decir?

This post from @aggroed would be an awesome fit. It is geared toward minnows and would offer added information and links to the chats etc.

https://steemit.com/minnowsupportproject/@aggroed/minnow-school-101-live-professor-aggroed-in-discord-sunday-night-at-10pm-nyc-time

ok i will ask him. thanks

I am on medium. I have only published here in the last 11 months, but I used to be active there.

https://medium.com/@rubenalexander

I think the highest grossing posts was from the @dollarvigilante. I will leave a link here and if someone can find a higher payout post just comment with a link.

$15.9k : https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@dollarvigilante/the-dollar-vigilante-is-now-on-steemit

And he made another $9k writing about making $15k https://steemit.com/steemit/@dollarvigilante/how-i-made-usd15-000-in-12-hours-on-the-new-blockchain-based-social-media-site-steemit

no a programmer made $30k in early days. i cannot remember who it was though

@intelliguy 's post on HOW MUCH WORK DO YOU EXPECT FROM YOUR FOLLOWERS? He talked about 3 categories of steemit posts; posts, postlings and spam. Its a good article to feature on medium.
Thumbs up for all the good work.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@intelliguy/how-much-work-do-you-expect-from-your-followers-do-not-spam-your-followers-with-postlings

ok thanks

you are welcome. Thanks for the $3 vote too.

Great - thanks for the share! But it is ironical how within moments of visiting this medium page, I found a few of the most useful posts for steemit outside of steemit :( We need better bookmarking/ help going on within steemit as well!

i know. that's partly why i want a collection of howto's for people who are not on Steemit yet.

I think this post is very remarkable in my opinion...this is where entire community worked together as a team to support a fellow community member...

ok, i'lll look into it.

Great idea. I'll be interested for my original SciFi series, and I will also cater to seminars that are curated by my team. Our last seminar was with Graham Hancock. Much more to come this year. Hope to bring value to this platform

This is a great initiative, thanks for taking the time to get it going.

We should leverage the eyeballs that frequent Medium and show them the better alternative!

Not trying to blow my own horn... but a lot of newbies and people new/unfamiliar to steemit & steemit claimed to find this helpful in understanding the concept and value of steem

https://steemit.com/steem/@feekayo/creating-value-how-i-developed-a-new-understanding-of-steem

ok, do you want it added to Medium? Are you writing on Medium already? If so, please link your medium story, so i can find you there.

Not on medium per se. Signed up; but never made a post. My handle should be @feekayo. Would not mind you adding it to medium tho

The highest grossing Steemit post I believe it's this one

yes, thank you! @xeroc was it.

You’re welcome

One of the post by @noisy where he highlighted a flaw in the steemit system.

I don't understand. Basically we're going to copy/pasta steemit articles to medium?

Wouldn't it make more sense to summarize good steemit stories (by writing a new mediumized version of a summary), and then entice people at the bottom of the "new" medium summary to click back to steemit to get the full story?

This way to Google, it would not look like duplicate content.

I do understand the end goal is to bring medium.com users here.. I just think it needs a tweak.

yes, and I agree....take a look at the publication and see what's there so far. There are currently very few copied articles. I want the famous steem stories to be there though

I have never heard of Medium. I will go have a look, but I doubt I would be of any help...

I have been active on Steemit for 11 months, but I used to be just as active on Medium. Their posting UI is still the best I've seen. It is very intuitive with formatting tools that can be accessed as you type.

As far as whether this will be an effective endeavor, you have to think about a few scenarios.

The downside is that content is ported over to medium and doesn't get much traction.

The upside is that people who love Medium as much as Steemians love steemit get to see a way to monitize their efforts. And the good Medium writers are some of the best writers that bring up the writing quality of their community. Even getting one or two of thise writers and getting them to write about Steemit on Medium can have huge long term impacts.

I don't believe content in its raw form should be copy/pasted to medium. I believe a new version of an article could be written over there (almost like a summary or review) and if the reader is entice to want to see the full story, they should have to click a link to see the full version on steemit.

We don't want duplicate content across both platforms. Which ever one GoogleBot finds first, it will count it as the original most of the time and the second one isn't ranked and could receive a penalty in the search results.

It's just better two have 2 different versions of similar content with the medium version trying to get users to click a link to read more on steemit.

I agree with you. I thought @stellabelle was thinking of posting new content.

well, some do belong in Hackernoon, like trafalgar's post.....which he gave me permission to post: https://hackernoon.com/three-months-one-thousand-followers-and-one-million-dollars-later-1a9aa6686ea5

Thank you. That actually gives me a good idea... I will be signing up then!

Interesante Saludos

Hahahaha
I like this post.
Thanks for sharing.

Post @stellabelle very many people who like and votes
Not like us who are always less visitors

Happy day dear
great information . Post Beautiful

Wow this is such a great idea. I like Medium, there are good articles.