Sort:  

I think that idea has some potential. If reputation plays a significantly larger role, I wonder in what ways would the reputation system be gamed?

I suppose someone would figure out a way to game it. It wouldn't be for any monetary gain though as it should only be for flags and not votes. Probably be exploited for some of these ridiculous flag wars in some way though.

I picture users buying, renting, or making arrangements with the accounts of other high-rep users

this place is amazing... experimenting on the borders of anarchy.

They would have to get reputation actually on the blockchain for it to be calculated into the voting though (as far as I know.) My understanding is that rep is only something through the front-end. But yea..there's always gaming of pretty much any system put in place.

I thought reputation is a part of the blockchain?

It's been quite a while, so I could be mistaken. But I do believe it is separate from it. Though I couldn't easily find anything to say definitively one way or the other.

I'll try to verify with some people and let you know what I find one way or the other. :)

I’d be concerned we’d get into retribution wars like we’ve seen a bit of recently. Someone gets flagged so they then flag the person back on every move they make. I’m not greatly convinced by the flagging system. My rep is too valuable to me to risk a retribution flagging. Not sure how to get around this problem.