You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Be Careful, Steem!

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

We share the same gusto for out of the box thinking though! :-)
Thanks for your valuable thoughts and links shared. I love your article about 'common welfare economy' (Gemeinwohl-Ökonomie). Do you now Dan Larimer's concept for a blockchain-based Mutual Aid Society (MAS). I think both have a lot in common, especially the idea of focussing more on the overall outcome than on individual success.

Many months ago @dan-atstarlite published a vlog where he underlined the interdependence between the overall growth of a community and the personal success of their members. It requires a lot of commitment since the stronger need to sacrifice parts of their earnings for the group in order to balance out the weaker. But in the end it's all worth it, because if the platform fails, nobody wins.

Again, you made some great points here and I appreciated the read!
Too sad your German article was published 11 days ago, I would have loved to upvote it, too :-)

Sort:  

Thank you a lot, Marly (is that your name?),

I am amazed by the variety of different concepts and thoughts being put here as a reaction to your article.

since the stronger need to sacrifice parts of their earnings for the group in order to balance out the weaker. But in the end it's all worth it, because if the platform fails, nobody wins

I think that pins it down to what I meant. Even though the winners might think, they won (for example the platform dies and the ones who cashed out on a great scale saved their rewards) they could lose on a greater scale - because whenever many losers will be left, it could be defined as a loss for the total.

Not necessarily because it would be like this, but because those who were left behind would or could think so. It always depends on what those with the many powers would like to do with this power. When I find myself sacrificing a part of my wealth, it is something different than when I find that I simply give up a part without feeling the loss. Which brings me back to the question of how much I really need personally as part of a large human community.

Have a good recovery from this huge amount of responding to your comments :-)

P.S. No, I don't know Dan Larimer's concept, but will try to find it. Thank you.

Marly is fine :-)