You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Safe Steemit ~ 1 Day Voting Moratorium for the Whales

in #steem8 years ago

Please can help and explain this comment in a bit more detail " Which means that each time a whale votes at 100% they have such a massive impact that everybody else's loses 90% of their voting power". I am new to steemit and don't know the technical details but I don't see how this would work. How can the voting power of one user (doesn't matter if small or big player) impact any other users voting power?

Sort:  

The amount of Steem being distributed is fixed. If the whales don't vote their vesting shares are not used. The votes of the minnows would be worth a lot more.

Let's say you and I were the only 2 voters in the field. You vote with 3 Steem Power for post #A and I do not vote. The author of post #A receives all rewards. If I would vote for post #B with 100.000 SP the author of post #B earns almost all of the reward, but #A almost nothing.

Upvoted! That explains my question "The amount of Steem being distributed is fixed. " Thank you, I understand now.

Yes I agree with that as this is how it suppose to work but that doesn't explain that if a whale votes, you, I or anyone else loses there own voting power? My thinking is, If I have a vote value of 1000SP, than my voting power is based on that 1000SP regardless what happens around me. Please don't see my comment as something negative, I just would be very (unpleasant) surprised if it is like you stated. EDIT: penguinpablo answered my question above.