Sort:  

Sorry I don't understand your question. Steem is the currency for social media platform steemit, correct?

It's mostly my gut feeling why I think it will not become mainstream. But let me try to sum up a few reasons :
1 to difficult. Most steemonians only have very limited knowledge about steemit.
2 for a lot of people it looks like it is impossible to earn money.
Combine 1&2 and it could result in users stopping after a few weeks.

3 scams, spammers and other annoying stuff
4 this one I like best, but probably will never happen. Create a Facebook alike social media and use the profit (advertising income) to pay out to all contributing users. This could be huge. At least in my dreams 😂😋😎

You’re looking for Sola. They pay in sol. They look a little like Instagram. They advertise on the platform to make $.

Steemit is waaaaaaaay better.

You got to be kidding me. Someone stole my idea 😥😋