You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can we please stop calling it Reward Pool Rape!

in #steem6 years ago

I get it, although I don't believe it was ever intended to be taken that way. I feel it's kind of calling something gay or retarded... It's more or less just an expression. I do agree though that there is probably a better way to express a discontent with this topic

Sort:  

It’s exactly like calling something “gay” or “retarded”, completely inappropriate.

I disagree. I think it was started to give exactly the bad taste that Phel is talking about in this post. It is meant to be inflammatory and reaction inducing. I don't know where it started for sure, but it smells of Bernie, and if it did originate with him, I would bet all the crypto I have that it was intended to cause a reaction.

I do agree that at this point we need to find a new term. Something less inflammatory, while still getting the point across. Reward Pool abuse doesn't have a ring to it, but does it need to?

This is a good subject for talking about. Very appropriate that @phelimint brought it up on International Women's day, or whatever they are calling it.

Interestingly the Woman's day thing was not intended. I've been sitting on this for a while and finally wanted to get it out there.

I don't know where is started by do know that it's often said by @berniesanders. I do happen to agree with much of what he's doing around here, but he does take a bit of an aggressive and inflammatory method that rubs me the wrong way.

Quit being such a fucking crybaby. I'll be back to flag this in a little while, better go spend more on bot votes...

It could be intentional, its called a frame, politics and media use it al the time.

Well, this is the same guys who also hates to hear the term gay or retarded used in the same manner. This is not appropriate to use "just as an expression" These terms hurt and offend some people, and it's not appropriate just to toss them around for "shock value"

Yes, mikepm74 was right on the money while referring to them as an inflammatory response. I think that's a very accurate way to describe it. I'm guessing it's intentionally used because it has more of a sting to it seeing is it is so inappropriate. I think that reward pool abuse still drives the underling issue without being offensive, but I'm not sure how likely it is to catch on though.