You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @sweetsssj is the largest abuser of last minute upvotes!

in #steem6 years ago

Yeah, you can't get any visibility without votes, but you can't get votes without visibility. Obviously, the company line is you have to invest to power up, get a delegation, etc. I've also heard you had to produce qualify content, and that would certainly help, but judging by the trending page, it doesn't ALWAYS appear to be a requirement.

Seriously, you can get some traction without that by engaging with communities and promoting your work, but it's very tough because it takes a lot of skill, improvement, and endurance. That's why there are so many inactive users.

Anyway, I just throw a bit out here and there and hope that in a year or two the ship's still floating, and my account will be worth more. It's no get-quick-rich platform unless you enter into it funded with either money or a large base of followers.

This isn't necessarily a total criticism. My daddy always used to warn me that the world did not revolve around me. I'm just saying that people need to have the right expectations.

Sort:  

Beautifully said. I am in that slow riding boat. I can see the trend that people who have a good following from youtube can make it good on steemit. Hence why Im gonna start doing more parody skits on youtube in the long run in hopes of building a fan base. Its gonna take a lot of work and time. I will do it for fun or else I will feel burnt out when I see no quick progress. It should not be a get rich quick gimmick, here on steemit or on youtube.