Happy Birthday @themarkymark

in #steem6 years ago

Tomorrow is my 1 year anniversary

My life changed dramatically since I found Steem. I devote a lot of my time to Steem and Steem communities off the chain.

When did I join?

My first post

image.png

How to boost your reading speed

https://steemit.com/productivity/@themarkymark/how-to-boost-your-reading-speed

My first post was writing about Speed reading and was planning on spending my time talking about productivity. The post made 3 cents, had 7 votes, and 4 comments. I tried going in this direction for a while, posting about productivity and had similar results. I used to joke about posting into a black hole.

My introduce yourself post

I didn't write my #introduceyourself post for a week after I joined. I didn't know about it, and when I found out I did a half ass job writing it.

image.png

Hello Steemit, I'm new here

https://steemit.com/productivity/@themarkymark/hello-steemit-i-m-new-here

I noticed early on I had a habit of putting periods at the end of my titles. Something I find very odd now as I have made headlines for a long time and I never usually do that.

My largest payout post

image.png

Fighting spam, dealing with losers, and why no one gives a fuck

https://steemit.com/steemit/@themarkymark/fighting-spam-dealing-with-losers-and-why-no-one-gives-a-fuck

By now most people that know me know I spend a lot of time fighting spam, plagiarism, and scams. A lot of effort goes into the @buildawhale blacklist and protecting users from scams. It is a frustrating and thankless job and feels endless. As a result, I receive thousands of flags a month, and endless hateful comments.

Most commented post

image.png

Important Change to Steemit, effective immediately

https://steemit.com/haejin/@themarkymark/important-change-to-steemit-effective-immediately

My post that had the most comments had 1720 upvotes, 529 comments, and like 17,000 views. I believe it was one of the most viewed posts on Steemit. It was one of my few satire posts (but with a purpose) I never posted.

BuildAWhale

I started @buildawhale on August 7th, 2017, a little over a month of arriving on Steemit. I aggressively bought delegation paying a week in advance with my own Steem I purchased. My plan was to create a bid bot that did something different. We create a post every day (Monday-Friday) promoting our five favorite posts for the day in our Curation Digest.

Witness

A little over 2 months after joining I started my witness campaign. I wouldn't call it as much of a campaign as I don't really go around asking for votes, but I started a witness node and started to spend a lot of time helping others with the technical aspects of being a witness. It took me about 1.5 months before I witnessed my first block when I hit #85. At this point, I set up a backup witness to failover to in case of a failure. I am currently barely in the top 50 at #48. I have always been stubborn and refused to go around asking for witness votes, something I regret at this point as it seems to be the most successful way to get up the ranks and let people know what you are doing. I currently run three witness nodes and administer four full nodes.

Upvotes & Flags

I have received 84,382 upvotes and 564 flags on @themarkymark since I have arrived here.

Posts & Comments

I have written 520 posts and 4,795 comments. When I arrived on Steemit, I decided I would focus on creating at least one post a day no matter how hard it is. I am not much of a blogger, and never really was a big fan of writing. So this was difficult for me and required a lot of discipline.

My favorite posts

I write a lot of tutorial posts, some still get frequent comments 8 months later. Some of my posts I am the proudest of are:

You don't need to buy me anything for my birthday, you don't even need to upvote my post. Just go and buy $10 worth of Steem, that would be the best gift you can get me!

STEEM ON!




X48EJ

Why you should vote me as witness

Witness & Administrator of four full nodes

Active, Present, Passionate

My recent popular posts

STEEM, STEEM Power, Vests, and Steem Dollars. wtf is this shit?
The truth and lies about 25% curation, why what you know is FAKE NEWS
WTF is a hardware wallet, and why should you have one?
GINABOT - The Secret to your Sanity on Steemit
How to calculate post rewards
Use SSH all the time? Time for a big boy SSH Client
How to change your recovery account
How curation rewards work and how to be a kick ass curator
Markdown 101 - How to make kick ass posts on Steemit
Work ON your business, not in your business! - How to succeed as a small business
You are not entitled to an audience, you need to earn it!
How to properly setup SSH Key Authentication - If you are logging into your server with root, you are doing it wrong!
Building a Portable Game Console

Sort:  
There are 3 pages
Pages

Happy anniversary!

I decided I would focus on creating at least one post a day no matter how hard it is

I'm really impressed that you were able to do this, especially if you don't particularly enjoy writing. I think persistence, hard work and daily blogging can go a long way for people who want to "make it" here on the Steem blockchain, and you're a great example of that.

@themarkymark After reading this I decided to go buy £100 worth of Steem from fiat, happy birthday and keep up the good work!!!

:)

🙂 love firefly, wish they'd do another series or movie

Check out the movie Serenity and these shows:

  • Killjoys
  • The Expanse
  • Dark Matter

Not in the same league, but fun.

I've got physical and digital copies of Serenity, brilliant movie, love the part where they disguise as the reever ship, great space battle. Thanks for the lil list I will definitely give them a go, like the sound of Dark Matter, also given me some inspiration for my next fractal 🙂

Gratz mark! You've come a long way in one year, now you're a great big whale! :))

Still a long way away from a whale.

really got inspired from your success story thank you for sharing this with us.

Happy Steem anniversary man, love @buildawhale and the services you provide...

Hope you enjoy your present ;)

(Have to excuse the exchange rate for us Canadians but it's roughly 10 bucks worth of STEEM lol)

BlockTrades   Cryptocurrency Exchange (1).png

happy birthday! i'm so glad you're here and that we're friends.

:)

If B is your friend that’s all that counts! Happy B-day bro! Your efforts here are appreciated, even if they aren’t recognized by some idiots.


Congrats, you made the #steemitminute for today!
Click the Image Below to see the Video!

A good start!

Congratz dude! What a buttload of stuff youve done this year. I remember when it all started! Cheers to that!

Happy Anniversary. We joined about the same time then. My Anniversary was yesterday. You have clearly done a lot. Maybe some day I'll consider being a witness but now its just watching and learning. Congratulations.

Happy birtdhay on there marky. I voted for u as wittness days ago, when it happened all that jerrybannfield stuff.

I think u are really doing stuff for the community, at least reporting and putting some light from time to time. And that's kinda great.

So yeah, have a good day ^^

You too, thanks ;)

Happy first Birthday @themarkymark, I am very happy to be one of your followers, you are a very good example, STEEM ON!

Beautiful, really interesting words .. Be a good Be yourself
Great post from you
Thanks for sharing this with us..

Happy Anniversary

Congrats, friend. I dare say you've made good progress all through the year.

Happy Steeming!


images-25.jpg

Happy anniversary @themarkymark . I found something similiar in you and me i.e i am also afraid of writing blogs. I got really inspired by your success story i wish i will also found myself like u one day.

Sensational effort :D

Happy birthday from Kazakhstan!🎆🎂🎁

Happy birthday i am happy for u remain bless

Happy birthday dear

Where is birthday party?

Congrats @themarkymark, happy 1yr anniversary!

Happy Birthday @themarkymark Your journey was wonderful. I love reading your posts. Thanks for sharing and wtiting such wonderful posts.

Great journey and nicely described.happy 1 year anniversary.you come a long way.

@themarkymark congrats dear on achieving this mile stone on steemit. hope you and your experience will help us too in growing on this great platform like you.

Happy Birthday :)
congratulations for complete first and wish you complete many years with us.

Happy Birthday Bro

@themarkymark very motivational story thanks for sharing with us .

Happy Steemiversary 😁

Happy Steemit Day! You continue to provide valuable content for the community.

Hi,

Congrats on staying with us in Steemit for 1 year.
Looks like a productive year for you in here.

Keep on Steeming.

Wish you very very happy steem day sir,i really hardworking man

You got a 17.86% upvote from @upme thanks to @ipromote! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

wow, @themarkymark. I am really inspired by your journey. I have just found this site earlier may. Now, I am committed to giving my time to it.

Wish you very very steemit anniversary

Congratulation sir, Happy themarkymarkversary. Hope you still in health and under blessing of God. We greet from Aceh, Indonesia.

Congrats on your 1 year with Steemit!

Happy Birthday @themarkymark Thank-you for supporting this platform so hard! I will endeavour to purchase my first $10 in steem with fiat! Here's to hoping i finally figure out how to do it!! Will you do anything to celebrate your Steemiversary? ❤🐳❤

Congrats @themarkymark coincidence is that your steemit birthday and mine real birthday.

Happy birthday ! Thanks for making Steem a better place !

Happy birthday @themarkymark. You have completed ONE year of incredible journey.

Happy Steemversary Mark! I just turned 1 year on Steemit the other week, on June 21st.

I too waited ages before posting my Introduce Myself post.

A lot happened in the past year and a lot of good things. I look forward in seeing more from you, both as a blogger and as Witness for the platform :)

Happy birthday (on steemit) dear! I like your work of fighting against spammers and plagiarists. Witness vote from me.

Happy Steemiversary MARK :)

Congratulations. Nice job

Hi! @themarkymark Congratulations! 👍

Happy Steemiversary! :)

There are 3 pages
Pages