You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Operation Clean Trending

in #steem6 years ago

I spend a lot of time and effort maintaining a blacklist for @buildawhale even when it means I take a lot and lose the best customers.

https://steemit.com/buildawhale/@buildawhale/2wq69g-buildawhale-blacklist-update
https://steemit.com/buildawhale/@buildawhale/2wq69g-buildawhale-blacklist-update
https://steemit.com/buildawhale/@buildawhale/2wq69g-buildawhale-blacklist-update

Almost 1,100 accounts on my blacklist, all personally research and verified by hand.

I run one of the few bots that blacklist people, and even fewer who spend 10-40+ hours a week finding and punishing spammers without funding or benefit and frequently results in retaliation and harassment.

I also run one of the few bid bots that actually have a reasonable cap to their maximum bid (50 SBD) so my bot cannot be used to abuse trending. I am not against people using bots to get to trending, I am against trash getting to trending. Spending money to get to trending (which is usually at a loss) is no different than using advertising on any other social media platform on the Internet.

While I appreciate your mission, you are vastly mistaken that the ROI of running a bid bot is close to self voting at 100%.

This is very far from the truth, on good days you might average 75% of a full vote, if you run a blacklist and stop the best customers (spammers) you make even less. When STEEM drops, you make even less.

That being said, most bot owners give off the majority of their earnings to delegators in many cases 95% of liquid rewards or more.

There is a big difference between using bid bots to promote trash to trending, and using bid bots to promote quality original content.

Sort: