Is it selfish to upvote your own comments?

in #steem6 years ago

Some thoughts about self-voting comments that I just had and wanted to share

I was just writing a comment under a post and after I finished writing it - I upvoted it.

And then I asked myself the question:

Why did I upvote it? Is it selfish?

Many people have the believe that self-voting is a no-no and I understand that.

Upvoting should be a tool to curate good content and with it create a proof of brain which decides which content is good.

But voting is also a way to use ones own stake and investment in STEEM - STEEMPOWER - and to use it - how one thinks is right.

And especially for comments - I often spend quite a lot of time writing it and I do believe that they have value. And I want them to be seen.

So that's why I upvote them - I don't want them to go under in the sheer amount of comments.

What are your thoughts about this? Do you think steemians deserve to use their STEEMPOWER (investment in STEEM) to give themselves a visibility push or should we only hope about getting discovered by other steemians?

Sort:  

I see no issue with upvoting your own posts and comments! Investing in yourself is one of the best investments there is!

I was just thinking about this too. I really don't see an issue with upvoting yourself. What frustrates me is people who comment and don't even bother to upvote the post. I always upvote people who comment on my posts, unnless it's obvious spam.

I agree with this too! Share the love lol

I don't think so ;-)

i agree with upvoting and what you said, the option is there to upvote your own work so really you should use it.

Check what @acidyo wrote about self-voting and what's it value going to be after the next hard fork.

To me, upvoting your own comments or posts in Steemit is the same as "liking" your own posts in Facebook, Instagram, etc. I don't understand it but I don't judge people if they do like their own stuff.

I'm not doing it... for now (:

I think it is not good to vote in your own comment as it generates individualism and what it is is to give a vote to the comment that is constructive or that impacts us positively. I believe every thought written in a comment is an energy of encouragement. Therefore it would be ethical not to vote for oneself but to encourage the community to vote for other comments and ASILAS people LEEAN your POST to ignite knowing that your comment will be rewarded

Upvoting posts is fine, but not comments (though it might be okay if the comment is longer than 300 words).