Introduction 'story' of a sound-designer, mouth harpist and stonemason.

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

photo.jpg
Heej fellow Steemians, i am new here and wanted to introduce myself..
I'm Jonas Vreven and was born on 30th of june 1982, i mainly occupy in sound-design, mouth harp and stonemasonary (the actual chopping of stone)
This is one of my most recent studio pic's; so u guy's can get acquinted with my setup.
BILD0134.JPG
Gear list;
Synthstrom Deluge
Elektron Analog Four
Moog Little Phatty
Future Retro Revolution 2
Mode Machine SL-1
Arturia SparkLE 2
Korg Electribe EMX-1
M-Audio Venom
Korg Monotron
Pioneer DJM 600
Boss OD-20 Distortion panel
Dap Audio Stage Verb DSP 256 Vocal panel
Akai EIE Pro limiter compressor master audio
Tascam US-16x08
ESI near 08 speakers
2 towers of 3 old big speakers, Technics, JVC and Celestion
Old akai amp

This is a picture i used as an intro pic to youtube;
Frotnje.jpg

And this is my latest acquirement;
Deluge skecthing.jpg

So what's my story? Well i'm a Ghentian from Belgium, born and raised on the edge of town in Mariakerke where is spend about 13 years of my youth. After this we moved to Evergem and that's where i fell in love with Rebirth from propellerhead, when i was only 16 years old. I was always an adventurous little fellow as a kid and music is where i found a way to nurture this energy even more. This and my daily habit of self medicating with cannabis made sure i had a great time exploring these things; it all began in the summer of '99, the same year i had seen a ghost... lol I had also just lost my first love.. I was always a real passionate fellow and was set to find that one girl, that all changed with getting older luckely. I did however get a writers block after this and couldn't draw any more; even if i 'd been doing this ever since a little child..

Never the less music would apparently become my biggest love. Even though i have an education in Graphic Arts and illustration, music took over. Especially electronic music and sound-design, i love making sounds from scratch and thus init patches. I hardly use any patches anymore, i might if i'm out of inspiration though. Later on i figured i had to learn a real instrument too, so i started with percussion and later on the mouth harp. I figured it all out by myself; so i'm an autodidact but i assure u, i knew how to make a darbuka sing with using pure rythm and not by playing on the metal part; just the plastic. I even managed to do the same with djembee's, wich are wood and hardly sing at all .. But my main instrument now is the jaw harp or Morchang in my case, plus also have some Đàn môi's.. wich are lip harps and cut like razorblades. So really dangerous stuff, with these u can cut your lips28056042_1629892470380207_6240341776059570799_n.jpg real bad and with the jaw harp u could chop off a thooth. Luckely i'm pretty much of a pro by now, but i've had my share, i look like i'm missing a thooth but that's actually a milk thooth wich fell out and stayed with me untill my 25 birthday. Funny thing is my late brother carried the same thooth with him into the grave. But let's not wonder off to far.. Back to the music, by now i play some guitar, keyboard and didgeridoo aswell. That's it that where about all the instruments i use, i've got a single bowl and some bells and a real cowbell too actually.. Figured they might also be wurth mentioning ;)
https://soundcloud.com/project-ion/mondharp-impro-3
https://41glaetch3r2hzakathru5thakaprojection.bandcamp.com/

Like i said i also do stonemasonary, in high school i did architecture, so this was actually a logic decision and fully in line with my education. It's the actual combination of graphic arts and architecture.
Have a look;
https://www.facebook.com/Hobbyist.Decorative.Graphic.Arts.Stonemasonery/photos/a.1539245019482340.1073741826.1539244096149099/1870648319675340/?type=1&theater

U might have noticed that my last work was my brothers tomb-stone. So this is where the story line really wanders off.. Ever since i've been pretty depressed. It's hard loosing a brother who's had cancer and was always such a cheerfull guy. The last 3 years have been quite a mess. I have an appointment with my shrink, wich i haven't seen ever since i got out of the psychiatry, so there's that aswell. I have psychotic tendency's, and that's why i self medicate; been doing it for 15 years now. No harm done, i also did something else to get my mind straightend out again afterwards, many of u might not know about these techniques and i intend to write a blog about it too. But Jon Whale proved that Carlos Castaneda's assemblagepoint really exists and no where else can this info be found. Cannabis even helps me keep my center ground now, it's an actual written thing, black on white, thx Jon Whale.. pff ;)
http://whalemedical.com/the-assemblage-point-and-health/
But more on that later; i'll quickly tell what happened. Well I had apparently burned myself on an inner fire i experienced while becoming psychotic, weird to explain but an inner explosion would be a better term.. 2 actually one in the tummy and one in the heart, that last one stayed with me for weeks on end and i could only discribe it as a huge flame at the base of my solar plexus, shining and burning bright, as bright and hard as a jet engine of 747 would burn but then in intense radiant energy and love.. I could feel myself radiating toward the universe and feel myself becomming 'it' and 'it' becomming me, it would radiate back and reflect off of me, anything around u was so utterly familiar and felt like an extention of myself. The things is it was a really personal experience and when chackra's employ they can have shocking results and long lasting effects.. I felt like i was one with it all, that all was one. Crazy experience 'cause nothing in my whole life, or education had prepared me for this, i mean i had read something on enlightment and such.. But i was an atheïst at this point, never was religious.. Still i felt like i was God or something, my name is Jonas so, maybe some can follow now.. Allthough i don't like the term 'psyhotic', or even 'god' nor 'messiah complex' at all, but it did happen. And it's still following me; look what showed up on my 33th birth-day..!
The Bethlehem star (conjunction of jupiter and venus)
ster.jpg
I was one of the unlucky people to have a shadepoint as a result of not being able to handle this energy, and wich needed correction. I actually tried to kill myself while being psychotic, it wasn't all heaven.. although i thought we where all gonna go there when i died. But what do u want. .? Being psychotic is a lot of hallucinating; audio and visual, sometimes really beautifull other times straight from hell, u see ghosts and stuff u can't explain, something visited me every night fx.. so it's pretty 'hefty' to go through. After being in the psychiatry where i only spend about 4 weeks, 'cause i really wanted to get out of there (never took any medication, just for the first week) it took me a year to find out about the books of Jon Whale. Bought one and tadaaa; it was like finding the holy grail to me.. After a correction of the shadepoint, wich i had done with the help of a dear friend of mine, i lost all my triggerpoints. Or at least most of the real bad ones. I've never been back to the psychiatery ever since my first episode, so it helped me out tremendously. But i've also never really gone back to society nether; i've been squating in the past for about 5 to 6 years, inbetween i had a year where i lived on a boat. And it's there on that boat where making electronic music really took off for me. Being called a pacha was also part of it apparently; my girl friend back then would call me so. ;) Actually by finding my own cure, one could say that in defenition i am now a shaman. One that likes to occupy himself with technoshamanisme ;) :D

That's about te whole story i geuss, i live in an anti-squad agreement now, have a lovely wolfdog, two cats and 2 dwarfsheep. And a big garden offcourse. Hardly worked a day in my life.. Got a little alienated from my fellow friends and surroundings, but i've been busy developing loads of skills. As a sound-designer i take on multiple genre's and had to split myself up; my names can be found on the bandcamp link up here somewhere. Music aswell, and i had this youtube channel; but i might just move it all to Dtube now; never had any luck on youtube anyways and monetisations on youtube don't work here in Belgium like it does for most of the world.

I have @toddjsmith1979 to thank for being here. I spotted him in a group on facebook.. Let's hope i can be as famous and succesfull as him one day ;) Lolz

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @thru5th!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome to steemit

Aah Thx, for the support..

Welcome to Steemit, @thru5th! I think I found the polymath of the month for my "newbies welcome" article :) You have an interesting background and a wide range of subjects to write about, so I think you'll fit in here perfectly :) Have fun!

Ow seriosuly, wow so you're gonna write something about me? Thx that's crazy.. Let me know what the results are of the polymath. Cheers dude.

whow im sorry to hear about the hard times youve been thru, even though i feel your experienceshave shaped you & i admire your annalitic & writing skils, aswel as your music .. i feel you have a cool sense for exploring & following you wil be intresting... nice meeting you!

THX But don't u think it's a bit to much? Might 've crossed a line here, that line that stands in between professional and personal.. lol

no shame in talking about yourselfve...& hard times . they are part of life. i like how you are not showing of a fake flashy lifestyle butt giving us a window to your real life, dont be ashamed you have a writing talent too.& talking about yourselve is therapy. goe bezig!

https://thru5th.bandcamp.com/ Changed the URL; 90% discount from now on..