You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's time to start paying attention to Steem

in #steem6 years ago

It would be different if it was set up more like EOS or Ethereum where contract code can be uploaded to the user account that would totally add different functionality programatically. Like suddenly someone's account on here could be a blog but someone elses account could be like going to a website essentially that would have an interactive game.

Check out https://steemit.com/steem/@steemitblog/steemit-interviews-steemmonsters, including the part about 'soft consensus'.

I laughed when I saw the thing about Steemit INC hiring. They always seem to pretend to be hiring all the time. At least Austin, TX is more enticing to most people than Blacksburg, VA if they ever do get around to hiring anyone. (Yes I saw they hired a CFO)

They have already hired quite a few people actually. I've talked to some of them.

As far as content creators are concerned there have probably been less than 10 people who it turned out OK for them. Then there are the witnesses and the founders / employees / early ninja miners.

I was making decent money here as a content creator, even before I was a witness. Nothing to quit my job over, but it was a nice 'side hustle' that was worth my time.

I do not argue though the fact that earning as a content creator here sucks, and a lot of improvement is needed on that front. I'm hopeful that with communities/hivemind, we will see improvement in content discovery, which should hopefully help a lot. We'll have to wait and see though. SMTs also have a lot of potential too.

YOU KNOW MY BIGGEST WORRY....... I can't really pitch STEEM because there is too much of a chance people who invest will get dumped on and if they try to blog they will have wasted their time as well when the price implodes.

I guess I do not see this. Anyone with a large stake has had plenty of opportunity to dump at this point, even at significantly higher prices than we have today.

Most of the witnesses don't have any real incentive to seriously solve the issues here. So at the end of the day you guys can just keep collecting your handsome rewards.

You are talking to one who does.

Sort:  

I think that the SteemMonsters situation is very perplexing and intriguing at the same time. I never got into Magic The Gathering so SteemMonsters wasn't necessarily up my alley but when I look at it I'm not entirely sure how the game play is really going to work or how the game play would take place online.

I can imagine maybe some mechanism where they were on a centralized server and how people could play against each other with the cards. I don't really know how they are going to do it.

I'm actually being neutral about that project and I'm blown away by how much they earned selling those cards when the game play wasn't announced and there doesn't seem to be a way to play the game yet.

The community is certainly the most powerful thing here and SteemMonsters seems to have effectively leveraged that fact. It will be interesting what they come up with. In my mind it would make more sense to build part of this on the EOSIO software using the Non-Fungible Contract Code.

https://github.com/unicoeos/eosio.nft

But again I don't know their exact plans and all that.

The jury is still out on communities/hivemind and SMTs in my mind. I just don't know exactly how it will change the game. In some respects I think SMTs could be a great thing or just further fracture off different platforms and the reward pool would be pretty small over on the different 3 party sites. I just don't know. It will be interesting.

A lot of the dumping can happen repeatedly like we see with Dogecoin or other cryptos. They can go in and out of it and really effect the price. There is too much power in too few hands...... plain and simple.

STEEM is technologically the #1 crypto in my mind. It is better than EOS because of the more extensive code base and relative ease of use to be on here interacting with the blockchain.

That being said I wouldn't say that it is "undervalued" There is a reason that it has slipped from #3 position on CoinMarketCap to #37. The market has spoken and the vast majority of people's experience on here hasn't been enjoyable. That is why the attrition rates are so bad and they always have been.

You might have something to lose if this doesn't work out. I'm not really sure. I know I have essentially lost money here and devalued my time so bad it is terrible. That is what happened to the majority of us.

There is too much power in too few hands...... plain and simple.

No disagreement from me on that. The only real solution to this though is going to be new hands coming in.

You might have something to lose if this doesn't work out. I'm not really sure. I know I have essentially lost money here and devalued my time so bad it is terrible. That is what happened to the majority of us.

Well, you are still here. That says something ;)


We would probably agree point-for-point on most of your complaints and issues with the platform. There is no doubt that the state the project is in today is not going to lead to mainstream adoption.

A lot is happening though and there are many efforts underway that I think have potential to change a lot of the things that are wrong. I'm pretty bullish on the platform as a whole based on where I think it will end up in the next 1-2 years.

I feel that my airdrop solution from Steemit INC is a plausible solution but I don't think they will do it in a million years. It will attract new people as well but I just don't like the feeling of solely trying to bring new people in to invest money in the project as a way to get us out of our investment. That is why I think there has to be additional revenue streams like Ad Revenue. Why is Twitch, YouTube, Facebook, Snapchat, Instagram, and Twitter using those models? There is a lot of money in it. I feel we can have the best of both worlds. Ad revenue Plus Crypto...... it could be the best of both worlds.

I'm extremely stubborn and also I have been researching what has worked and what hasn't and ultimately will take those findings to a new chain / platform. Steemians with a certain rep and a relatively small stake will get an airdrop on the new platform as well as EOS holders. Not a 1 to 1 distribution. An equal distribution to try to get things off on the right footing.

The community that has been built here has always been the most powerful thing. I won't forget about the Steemians

Re: advertising - stay tuned for my next post. I have something that’s been in the works for a while :)

Sounds interesting. I will keep an eye out for it.