You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEM Is Going To Change The World BUT Are Steemians Ready????

in #steem6 years ago

This platform is great... but I have been seeing not such great things, which might hurt it a bit.

First, there's the flag wars, with people attacking each other out of jealously and spite. (I can't find any valid reasons for the attacks, specially seeing that the guys accusing others of "raping the reward pool" are raping the reward pool themselves.)

Next, we have a problem with users giving up too quickly... they come, they post a few times, and they go away before even giving this site a fair chance. This might be both good and bad... since it weeds out people who were just looking for quick money.

Then... there's the crazy markets. What makes someone stay, after his account drops 80% in value just because the markets are insane...? I bet many people panicked and started withdrawing their money... while they still had some.

Anyway, I've been enjoying the platform... and in my opinion, this design needs a major revamp, since Busy.org's interface is light years ahead of the original one, and we can't have that. Can we?

Sort:  

I agree with you on three of the four points.

The flag wars, like any wars, no matter how justified, are violent and destructive. People who were calm, caring, and giving to others suddenly bought into the war mentality. We see symbols of war passed around. People are being vicious. And for what? Like you said, because someone's greed got out of control. I understand that but is the answer taking from all those people supposedly wanted to help.

I think a great deal of the giving up too quickly is because people are marketing the money aspect of the blockchain. People think it is a get rich quick because that is how it is positioned. People pass around @jerrybanfield's video about making $15K in 24 hours. That isnt the norm. He had a huge following that he was able to leverage. If we talking about decentralization, lack of censorship, and the ability to build something, we would be more successful (along with a sign up rate that didnt take a week or more).

I disagree with this because there is nothing anyone can do. Crypto is volatile and focusing upon the markets is the wrong thing anyway. I know it happens. Activity is down on here and much of that, in my opinion, is people are discouraged at the price of STEEM (along with everything else). Fiat isnt volatile and it is also not given.

I started using busy.org for many things and you are right, it is light years ahead of the steemit interface. Of course, is it a problem since all are free to log in and use busy. As steemians, we have the choice.

This is far from a perfect system with many challenges. People want to focus upon what is wrong, which is valid, yet overlook the good.

Thanks for your comment @trincowski.

I hope the flag wars end. I am not joining them, I've been muting the most crazy spammers and I am not looking back. I don't need those destructive people in my life, anyway.

Hugs

I actually don't understand why we can't agree about some general rules to end those flag wars? Or is it only 1 big haejin war? At least I didn't see any others.

In the past every steemonian could only write 4 posts a day. If we implement that rule again it's finished. And perhaps we could have a few more of these kind of simple rules?