The Amazing Atheist Joins Steemit, The Blue Cloud Forest Millipede & The World's Worst Sneeze

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Are you ready for another random mash-up of the shit going in my head forced to you ? Ok, let's start:

1. The Amazing Atheist Joins Steemit!

Maybe you have heard of him or maybe not. If not, he is a popular youtuber with over 1 million subscribers that first rose to prominence through his criticism on religion, although in the past years he is covering all kinds of topics like politics, crazy social justice warriors and feminists, debunking flat earthers and other shit.

Personally, I have been a huge fan of him in the past and it's great to have him here and on D.tube. I said "had been" cause he had to tone his shit down a lot in the past as google fucked him again and again in the ass by demonetizing his content and removing his videos for stupid reasons. 

The AmazingAtheist (who changed his brand name recently to @tjkirk) is the second big youtuber, at least to my knowledge, that joins us in less than a month. Two weeks ago we also had @theneedledrop join us who also has over 1 million subs. And don't forget the other little guys, like@answerswithjoe (90k subscribers on youtube) and the @thegamechasers. Go check their content out and give them some love if you like what you see!

I wonder how long it will be till we get other HUGE names over here like pewdiepie and what kind of impact that would have! I think it won't be long though and I suggest you to hold on your steem boys as I am sure things gonna explode soon!

2. The Blue Cloud Forest Millipede 

Well, I haven't posted a strange animal for a while, so I think it's about time to do so. So, what I have for you is a millipede I just heard about. Usually millipedes are boring as most of them look pretty much the same if we exclude size differences. But this one is a real eye-candy:

(credit)

Meet Pararhachistes potosinus, commonly known as the Blue Cloud Forest Millipede. The creature is endemic on Mexico and.... that's all I could find! Actually, after spending more than an hour searching about it in all kinds of places the only scientific publication I could find mentioning it was the one where it was first described ("Chamberlin, R. V. (1943). On Mexican Millipeds. Bulletin of the University of Utah, Biological series, 8(3): 1-103") and unfortunately I couldn't access it.

However, since it belongs to the Polydesmida order ( the largest order of millipedes) I think we can safely assume it produces hydrogen cyanide. Maybe that's also behind the reason behind  the blue color, warning potential predators that this critter is not snack material (aposematism)! 

Please leave a comment if you know or can find more info about this animal, or even better write a post about it. I promise I will give it some love and a resteem if you come up with good and properly referenced info! With not much else to say about it, I will leave you with one more cool photo and move to the next subject of today:


(credit)

3. The World's Worst Sneeze 

(credit)

And here's one final news story that peaked my interest today. You may have heard how holding in a sneeze can cause all kinds of problems, like a ruptured ear drum. Well chances of something like that happening are pretty low but next time you are about to sneeze just let it out. You don't want to end up like this 34-year old guy from this new medical report who actually ruptured his pharynx!

According to the report,  after holding a sneeze the patient presented to the emergency  complaining about a popping sensation in his neck (crepitus), bilateral neck swelling and had trouble swallowing. After running a series of tests the diagnosis was made; perforation of the pharynx.

Fortunately, the case wasn't very serious and conservative treatment was more than enough. One week later he had started to improve and two months later he was fully treated. The report concludes that:

"Halting sneeze via blocking nostrils and mouth is a dangerous manoeuvre and should be avoided, as it may lead to numerous complications such as pneumomediastinum, perforation of tympanic membrane and even rupture of cerebral aneurysm. " 

So, next time just let it go and don't be embarrassed about what other people might think or say.

I just wish I could find some similar research about farts to start a movement about how withholding farts is a serious health hazard and how we should just let them go with no social stigma XD

So that's all for today, see ya tomorrow!

Sort:  

I seem to vaguely recall that in one of Heinlein's science fiction novels the society considered eating to be a somewhat shameful process to be done only in privacy whereas shitting (and by implication, farting) were considered just normal public, even social, activities.

You might do well there, @trumpman!

Hmmm, never read any of his novels but after reading about him I think I will like them. I tried to google the "plot" you mentioned but came up with nothing. Oh well, I guess I have to take them from start!

An atheist, a millipede & a sneeze all in one, well the first thing that came into my mind was god(atheist) bless(sneeze) catterpillars(millipedes), you really forced your shit into my mind... xD Well written!

HaHa!!
Thank you, that was quite entertaining & educating!

  1. I would like to have the blue one as a wristlet, it's such nice intense color and pattern:)

  2. I actually never did that: closing nostrils AND mouth. How on earth can one do that, when the sneeze is coming up on a 200 kilometer per hour speed???!! Of course that is dangerous!

It's - sorry to say that (actually not sorry) - like an orgasm. When you are not holding it back it and the TSCHANG!!! comes out really forceful: that's the best:)))

  1. Huh! That's a cool idea actually! If i ever get my hands on one I promise I will keep it for you <3
  2. I have done it two or three times as a child out of curiosity.. The last one I saw stars and got really dizzy. Not again!

Yeah, letting out a strong sneeze is one of the best feelings in life XD

If i ever get my hands on one I promise I will keep it for you <3

:-) hope, they look dried as intense in color as alive

I have done it two or three times as a child out of curiosity.. The last one I saw stars and got really dizzy.

HeHe. When I was a kid I tried with my friends to faint on purpose. We didn't make it though. So I never had the experience of seeing stars which of course I was up to.

HATSCHI!!!

wow.. you find worlds most extrim inseckt ... @trumpman

Thanks, I am trying my best :D

Wow, JTkirk has already gained quite a bit of steam from just a few posts. I think you're right that other prominent youtubers will join soon.

Damn, am I the only one that does not know any of the youtubers you mentioned? I'm beginning to feel I've been living in a cave with some ancient Hominids. :)

This millipede really looks, erm.. weird. :)

P.S: wassup with sneezing? I heard someone can actually pop an eyeball if he tries to sneeze with eyes open :)

Nice piece buddy

It's ok don't worry. Maybe check up his latest video on steemit. It gave me some good lulz :)

Ok buddy, I would do that :)

  1. WoW! How do you discover all this stuff?
  2. Is it a challenge?
  3. Hmmm
  1. Profit?!

More known people coming to steemit, and we just keep growing. Exciting news @trumpman

By the end of the year everybody will have a steemit account XD

I think I was responsible... I think it might have been me...

It always has to be about you, right ?!

wow i was clueless he got into Dtube. steemit is growing way faster than anyone believed so yeee!

also fuck the millipedes and centipedes :P

hey! they are actually pretty cool so fuck you!! :(

till you wake up and watch it crawling in your leg :P

@tjkirk is a great addition to steemit ,someone with over 1 million subscibers on youtube and they fucking with him,
That sneeze though ,sneeze comes naturally ,so we should let it come out without holding it

Yeah, it's great to have him here!

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

is that real? because it looks like a man-made dude

the amazing atheist? yep, he is real!

SNAPSHARE LOGO.jpg
Hello Steemer, your post was approved by my AI content rating script and was rated with an overall score of 42 SS.

As a complimentary reward, SnapShare has upvoted and resteemed your post. Show your love for other steemers by upvoting this post.

To be eligible for receiving a High Quality Content "Badge Of Honor", follow @snapshare

Know more about SnapShare at https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@snapshare/what-is-snapshare-get-your-content-branded-with-snapshare.

Check out the meaning of various badges at: https://steemit.com/steemit/@snapshare/snapshare-badge-of-honor-which-one-did-you-get

If you are a reader viewing this post, the SS score will give you an overview of the quality of content.

Congratulations!
Keep Steeming! Keep SnapSharing!
Cheers!

thanks. have a nice day

pewdiepie will be the bomb, when he gets here steemit will just explode