You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Call to the Whales - It's Time to Clean This Place Up - Please Join Me!

in #steem6 years ago

I am new to steem. I have an honest question, and doubt I may get an answer after I say that I follow Haejin and built a steem account because I like Haejin's TA, and I thought the idea of upvoting and rewarding was pretty neat.. That alone will probably get me flagged by like 30 people--but I guess I don't really care if I can understand the situation better. I really do think Steem is interesting, and want to learn more. Why do some people harp on this idea of "not cashing out"? I hear a lot about supporting the "Steemit Community" But honestly the only time I hear about "Supporting the Steemit Community" it's usually associated with some attack, cursing, and immature post. As an outsider--someone who just set up a Steemit account to upvote a technical analyst, it makes this whole concept of the "Steemit Community" seem just plain weird.... But I really do want to understand the situation better. I have wanted to look into Steemit a little more, and I do see some potential--the idea is actually really neat. Wouldn't allowing individuals to "cash out" and take their rewards and convert them to dollars be a highly incentivizing factor to help more people come to steem. I think of Litecoin.... I buy it to xfer it and trade for other alts because it's fast. It serves a good purpose. I don't HODL big amounts of it. But I assume lots of people do what I do and that creates a demand for LTC... In a similar way, If other people buy steem to support their favorite writers, I can only imagine that (coupled with the possibility of cashing out) helps STEEM...and if it didn't help Steem.......I feel like maybe it's not designed to succeed. I really don't understand well enough... Figure you guys are passionate about what you're doing and can help me understand.