You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Be Careful, Steem!

in #steem6 years ago

Well written @surfermarly - just to summarise it, in the past all has been better :-)?

What would be a solution then? I think no matter if centralised or de-centralized power rules anything, Steemit is no different but still offers everyone a voice and opportunity. If you want more influence you need to powerup , if you want more rewards you need to create relations. Not sure how the power or influence should be spread in a different way, by certain rules people will say communism. There is no sole solution I think.

You talk about the original Steem vision, which one is that?

Sort:  

My grandfather used to say in the past everything was much better. I don't think that this was the whole truth, I mean he even was a prisoner of war once! Anyways...

One solution would be to seperate SP from influence/VP. Not sure if you remember the experiment from @abit and @smooth: that's been a great case study which perfectly showed what could happen if we distributed VP differently. Curating suddenly became fun!

You talk about the original Steem vision, which one is that?

Giving value back to those who create value. Creating a REAL free market where equality of opportunity is given, no matter your financial background / buy-in.

I loved the experiment they handled - the question only is - HOW to implement this separation of SP from Influence, how to define it, who to decide on it? That would probably create a lot wars within the community then too. A public democratic election where every user has one voice maybe? How are sock puppets handled then - hmmm - difficult.

Giving value back to those who create value. Creating a REAL free market where equality of opportunity is given, no matter your financial background / buy-in.

Good vision - challenge: can we define value? "Creating a real free market where equality of opportunity is given, no matter your financial background / buy-in." - nice marketing claim - that is capitalism so it is real isn't it :-)?

“People will be People”, even on the blockchain! The original vision is : “You have a voice and can keep it there for all future generations to come. That’s an amazing reason to stay on steemit beside my 15-40 payout per article.

I like your approach but are we really sure this blockchain will last for future generations? Get rid of linear rewards, back to HF 14 or 15 and I see hope. We are all waiting so long for promised features such as communities - where are they, why is there no update? Shall I visit github everyday or just start to be witness too, maybe I hear ore then?

Oh well ...let’s see what EOS can change 🙀
Nobody can predict the future but for now I write because I enjoy telling my little stories and collecting STEEM I either keep or exchange. It’s that simple. I refuse to focus on the “unfairness” of this platform. We deal with IT every day in our lives. Why would it be different on a social media platform? That’s “wishful” thinking! I am learning to find my place where I can help to create harmony as much as possible.

So ist es richtig! Daher lass ich meine Emotionen meist aussen vor in letzter Zeit :-)

Ist auch besser so! Wenn ich los lege, wird’s meistens heavy :) but also misunderstood or maybe even misinterpreted. It’s not easy sometimes when you don’t feel nor see the person you talk to.

BTW : check this article! Quite interesting

https://steemit.com/eos/@inertia/til-dan-larimer-left-steem-because-it-was-unfixable#@dan/re-inertia-til-dan-larimer-left-steem-because-it-was-unfixable-20180113t130002600z