You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Save Steem

in #steem4 years ago

I know that to be true, although I'd be hard pressed to grasp who is competent at what. The specifics of software development are beyond my understanding, although I can follow logically if specifics are explained to me painfully slowly.

I know you have been here a long time, and serve as a witness. Do you have expertise coding? My assumption is that many witnesses do.

Sort:  

Software Engineering is actually about how things work and interact with people. I am sure most people know one part :)

Well, I lead a graphene blockchain developers at work & is working on cross chain technology for last 2+ years.

Not all the witnesses are programmers. @blocktrades is a veteran programmer, @anyx (is an academic as well), @netuoso are programmers. There could be other programmers as well. Most of the top witnesses like @gtg, @drakos etc posses excellent system administrator/security skills. I am not listing everyone but this is a list of people who are best of my knowledge closely associated with blockchain from a technology perspective. (This is not an exhaustive list)

Also, the skills for the Graphene (Bitshares/Steem/EOS) blockchain development is essentially C++ programming language and a library called BOOST. So in the above has people who work directly with C++ and BOOST libraries for more than 10 years.

The required skill setset would be - Approx 8 years of C++/BOOST expertise and a minimum 10 years of total software development expertise. (Obviously, this is my criteria and its highly subjective.). The total 10 years IMHO is highly required as that makes one humble as she will understand the silly issues associated with software development. Its not necessarily intelligence that matters but common sense and attention to things as opposed to focus.

Thanks a bunch for you highly substantive answer!