You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @r0nd0n Saves the Day - Again!

in #steem5 years ago

@guiltyparties has reached out to me regarding the incident, and discovered how I enabled the attacker to change my keys. I attempted to post a link, and for some reason the copy action I tried to undertake did not work, and I didn't notice. I had just logged into Steempeak, and my active key remained in my clipboard then was pasted when I posted the link in the comment.

Since it was a link, it was not visible in the text of the comment and I did not notice it. The hacker runs a script that searches the blockchain for keys, and found mine in seconds.

Steem Keychain would have made that impossible, and I regret now that I was not using it.

Sort:  

Only if Keychain is accepted, not if you have to copy ur key from Keychain to steemconnect, right?

Unfortunately you are correct, and my browser doesn't work with Keychain, so I had to paste my key into steemconnect, which loaded it into the clipboard, from whence it was pasted for the entire world when I posted a link.

:// how unlucky

I don't think of it as luck. I think of it as bad opsec. In Alaska where I was raised, I learned that if it happens to you, it's your fault.

hurtful truth, but as anarchist I can completely agree and have the same opinion.
people are not ready to be accountable; women are a special topic.