You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem stigma from outsiders

in #steem6 years ago

Boy oh boy, do I really need to talk about how Steem has helped out in my most dire times of needs? Okay? Okay.

I basically got into this whole blogging thing around mid January. Christmas had passed, I was unemployed and in not so good economical situation. But then my Ex Girlfriend talked to me about some other income opportunities I could get into, one of the ones she mentioned was Steemit.

She sold the prospect of steemit to me as basically "Oh it's like having your own blog but you basically get paid if people like your content." A concept like that was honestly very hard to trust for me because I simply couldn't understand it... Until then she mentioned Crypto; I soon started to understand little by little how everything played out in this sort of blog with utopic properties to it.

Let's say that i'm almost a year into Steemit and I'm still learning the ropes around here and gained quite a lot more thant I had initially hoped for. But that's not the entire experience. I've bonded with so many people, talked to a bunch more and even hanged out with more than i'm normally comfortable with! In terms of income I know i'm not this huge whale who gets hundreds of dollars a week but it's not like I absolutely need to earn 500+ dollars to love Steemit. Yes those Curie, Op Gaming and SteemGC's votes do help A LOT in terms of my economic situation but it's more than that, the payout it's the cherry on top and the people, productivity and skills I've discovered from just coexisting in this ecosystem is what really keeps me i'm here.

So yes, I'm Venezuelan and I'll defend and promote Steemit everywhere I can (Within reason) because it has given a new light into my life.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing!
You're right, the community here and many other advantages than just the payouts are for many already much better than currently existing centralized platforms. I am glad you've had a nice experience here and I hope it will only get better for us all in the near future. My first year on Steem I had only managed to collect around 8k SP (this was when price was 7 cents, too) as I was focusing on curation and engagement. It's gonna get exciting once we start reaching new heights again, hopefully. :)