You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Personal Thoughts - Steem/Tron Saga

in #steem4 years ago

Sometimes don't you wish you were wrong?

I think many shared your exact same concerns regarding the soft fork, yet it was pushed through anyways, and the worst case scenario played out. It may have been slightly about protecting the chain, but make no mistake it was also about the top witnesses keeping their jobs.

Sort:  

Sometimes don't you wish you were wrong?

I was wrong. I had no on-chain evidence, but neither did they. I am myopic to on-chain evidence for protecting the chain. I don't apologize for that.

I thought the community would take the attack on DPoS seriously. I thought Tron wouldn't respond at all. Or, I thought if they responded, I thought they'd work within the protocol (because there did exist a technical response that did not involve getting the exchanges involved).

I initially thought that when the exchanges did get involved, they only used Tron's exchange balances, which would have been slightly defensible, but the math didn't work out once you investigated that. By the way, a cool-headed response to exchange funds would have been to assume they only used Tron's balances and tweet that Tron must have 90% of the liquidity.

Witnesses who want to keep their jobs is a given. I don't blame them one bit for that. But this "dev fund" they're fixated on seems to be the linchpin to the entire platform, which is hilarious.

Because if that stake is allowed to vote, they likely don't keep their jobs, simple as that.

Which stake is that? The Steemit inc stake? As you realize the community has countered that.. correct? The fact that Poloniex customer funds are still being used and the idea that we have 20 sock puppets nodes being voted is the issue.. not that “witnesses want to keep their jobs”.

You seem bitter and unwilling to look at actual facts.. the Steemit inc stake is being countered. So I guess I’m confused what your grief is exactly.

Sure, that would be up in the air, but not a certainty, especially now that the community is less apathetic.

But even before breaking up the apathy, I'm not convinced the "dev fund" would have lead to absorption.