Plagiarism the scourge of Steemit

in #steem8 years ago

With great rewards comes the threat of theft of intellectual material. I see a growing trend of plagiarized work I feel like it could become a legal issue for the site and threaten all of us. I'm am not a saint by any means I have reposted articles, however I do acknowledge the source. As I'm writing this I am also aware that the images I use in original posts I farm from the web and have not given credit in the past, which I will correct in the future. Now that my sins are out there I would like to propose the ultimate penalty for this crime. I feel that anyone caught blatantly plagiarizing the work of another individual has their account revoked and funds frozen. I believe this is the only way to stop this practice. Remember this site goes dark and we're all lost. Flagging has been ineffective.


(image source *//www.plagiarism.com/images/home/donot-copy.jpg)
Please share your thoughts.

Humbly William Noe

Sort:  

Well considering the decentralized nature of the platform, you can't really revoke accounts or freeze funds, that's kind of the point... however, that doesn't stop people from pointing out the bad actors and making sure that they don't receive money.

We've also seen a few bots crop up here and there that automatically point out plagarism, such as the Cheetah bot, so I think there is hope that the market will work itself out and original content produces will get rewarded and spammers won't. In addition, we've also seen people who point out plagiarism get more rewards than the scammer, so it seems there is an incentive to police the bad actors.

I'm also seeing these bots comment on posts that are blatant examples of plagiarizism or have maybe just taken parts from another's work. I think self policing will be the best route, and remember if you are aware of blatant plagiarism you can flag if you like.

Cheetah bot is a good step to bots that will end this blight on steemit. If copy paste articles get down voted repeatedly there will be less incentives to continue posting them. Also #doyourpart

Yes this is an issue for sure. Once Steemit becomes huge this could become an issue down the road. They might make everyone sign an agreement later on that you are responsible if anything is stolen that is copy write material.

The problem of the copy is in any place, is difficult to avoid, if that might put on some norm it to avoid and to sanction to the one that copies other one.