You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I will begin removing authors of steem-centric posts.

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

The site in my opinion needs more manual curation at this point. By using 3 high SP accounts to autovote its equivalent to pouring fertilizer in a few locations but leaving everything else barren.

Seems like a logical step forward but if this idea can scale then people need to feel like they have a shot. The same authors are automatically getting pushed to the trending list every day. It's not about 'steem centric' posts.

User numbers are falling, curation award maximization may need to take on a smaller focus for the big holders as you can have more of a positive or negative influence on market cap.

Sure you can maybe make a 100% return on curation in a year, but you could also shoot yourself in the foot and give up on a 1000% growth in market cap.

Just my thoughts, I don't have an influence on the market cap. But with such a large distribution of SP in so few hands theres infinitely more pressure on you guys.

Sort:  

There are lots of ways to spread the love. My strategy is to have my bots do it. If I try to curate manually, then I get only two or three votes a day. Bots can spread much more. If I only use one account or vote with less weight then the payouts actually get more concentrated into the posts that are already biggest. If you don't understand the math of the latter, I can make an example.

You're probably one of the most transparent and open larger SP holders on here and in the Steemit.chat. I also know that you've hired manual curators to help you find overlooked articles.

I think I understand the maths of it, it basically comes down to there's a limited supply of Steem being produced per day and it's allocated by the amount of steem power used to vote in the day.

Looking back at my comment I think my tone was off, I'm just trying to figure out in my head what will give Steemit the best chance for long term success.

I think @jl777 has a great idea in focusing on building up tags.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@jl777/specialization-jump-starting-new-steemit-sub-communities-and-creating-insurmountable-obstacles-for-others#@jl777/re-wingz-re-jl777-specialization-jump-starting-new-steemit-sub-communities-and-creating-insurmountable-obstacles-for-others-20160804t125826590z