You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Self Voting... now a problem due to linear rewards

in #steem7 years ago

I saw a self-vote on a post that weighed in at more than $25, and it was the only vote on the post at the time. That's a bit disconcerting to me. I wanted to say something, but it's actually someone whose posts I tend to enjoy and didn't think it was appropriate to start a finger-pointing session. Plus I tend to avoid confrontation here anyway since it can carry some pretty drastic results.

Sort:  

It is possible to point something like this out to someone with a gently sarcastic comment like the one I made when I saw it the first time just before. "Well, now I don't have to waste my vote on a comment that I considered insightful". But what's the point in castigating someone when they are just doing what the system facilitates? That's where I am coming from with this. The system facilitates this, and it will increase the entropy of the forum. Self votes mean nothing about quality. Everyone's shit is solid gold.