How to Transfer STEEM between the BitShares and Steem Networks

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

You can trade your STEEM on the BitShares Exchange using OpenLedgers Deposit and Withdraw.
First you will need a BitShares account. Start one for free here:
BitShares Exchange Sign-up and Market

If you already have an account the above link will take you to the STEEM / BTC market offered by OpenLedger.

OPEN.STEEM is STEEM held by OpenLedger for exchange

OPEN.BTC is BTC held by OpenLedger for exchange

In order to trade you will need to deposit either STEEM or BTC. The process is simple.

Using OpenLedger's wallet you can click the tab marked "Deposit/Withdraw" at the top and this will give you various exchanges to select from to make your deposit. To use OpenLedgers OPEN assets described above you will select the "OpenLedger" tab from the available choices. From here you can select Deposit or Withdraw and you will find a drop down of all available coins and instructions.

STEEM DEPOSIT

To deposit STEEM to OpenLedger you will simply send your STEEM to the steemAccount:"openledger" with a memo: "open.steem:<yourBitsharesAccount>" where <yourBitsharesAccount> is the BitShares account name where you are trying to deposit. This will automatically issue your BitShares account with OPEN.STEEM which can now be traded on the market linked above. (or any market where OPEN.STEEM is traded)

Here is an example CLI command if I were to send from my steem account "xeldal" to a BitShares Account name "example":

transfer xeldal openledger "1.000 STEEM" "open.steem:example" true

[UPDATE] Steemit.com now has a wallet. Click on your profile icon in the top right and select "Wallet" . Then click the small carrot beside your steem balance and select "transfer" and fill in the "To" and "Memo" fields as described above.

STEEM WITHDRAWAL

To Withdraw your OPEN.STEEM back to real STEEM on the Steem Network, simply send your OPEN.STEEM to bitsharesAccount:"openledger-wallet" with the memo "steem:<yourSteemAccount>" Where <yourSteemAccount> is the Steem Account name you are trying to withdraw to.

The form to send OPEN.STEEM can be found as a top tab on OpenLedger marked "SEND". Just fill out the appropriate fields and select OPEN.STEEM from the drop down in the "Amount" field.

[UPDATE] You can now also use openledgers withdraw function from the "Deposit/Withdraw" tab. Just select OPEN.STEEM from the drop down, click Withdraw Now and fill in the fields. In this case the "To" field is the destination STEEM account and no memo is necessary.

I recommend trying with a small amount first before transferring large amounts to ensure everything is working and you've enter everything correctly.
The process should only take a few seconds to complete.

If anything goes wrong just contact someone on the STEEM slack channel or on the BitSharesTalk Forum someone there will help you sort it out.

Sort:  

thanks! withdraw is completed!

To deposit STEEM to OpenLedger you will simply send your STEEM to the steemAccount:"openledger" with a memo: "open.steem:" where is the BitShares account name where you are trying to deposit.

The statement above is unclear to me. Can you edit the article for clarity?

Thanks. I didn't have it properly formatted and some of the information wasn't showing. I've updated some of the other instructions as well to reflect recent changes. Hope that helps. : )

Perfect. I actually ended up figuring it out but I thought it would be nice to have it correct for future users.

No matter how many times I trade, I still have to refer back to this post! :D ha

Hello, how did you become a whale??

@xeldal can you please check this update from OpenLedger?
https://blog.openledger.info/2017/07/21/openledger-exchange-news-new-official-account-for-depositswithdrawals/
and change in your post openledger to openledger-dex?

had steem in my bitshares wallet. I wanted to sell. Went to "send" selected opn.steem from the drop down and sent to bittrex. Bittrex deposit account gave me a memo and a registered account by the name of bittrex . However , when I entered bittrex in the account field it told me to change it to bittrex-deposit. Which I did. I also entered the memo and hit send. The transaction seemed to have gone through in the bitshares wallet but doesnt even show as pending in bittrex. This is in my bitshares wallet history : ksh-9792 sent 121.15 STEEM to bittrex-deposit Unlock your wallet in order to see this memo . Where is my STEEM??:( Please help!

Any help on this?

I am quite confused, but I know this is because I am new here. With time I will understand. Thanks for sharing!

OPEN.STEEM does not appear in the drop-down on the Deposit/Withdraw tab. I tried to withdraw to a Steem account using the bitsharesAccount:"openledger-wallet" with the memo "steem:mySteemAccount". The money left my account and didn't appear in the target account. What now?

Openledgers STEEM wallet is probably down. I'm not seeing it in the drop down either. It's a bad UI design in my opinion. It should instead inform the user that the wallet is in maintenance rather than just not showing it. Anyway, you can start a support ticket with openledger if you'd like, here: https://openledger.freshdesk.com/

Hello from OpenLedger.
From Aug, 2018 we've updated our gates and now we are using openledger-dex to handle STEEM.
Please follow these instructions: https://openledger.freshdesk.com/solution/articles/33000213878-how-to-make-a-deposit-
https://openledger.freshdesk.com/solution/articles/33000213881-how-to-make-a-withdrawal
All transactions to openledger require manual proceeding and a lot of time to be spent.

I don't know how this happened but someone hacked my account and transferred 78 steem from my account to you. Can you please return back the steem!!

Someone transferred 12.78 steem 12 hrs ago and 78.94 steem 12 hrs ago.

We are not involved in any business transactions so there is no reason for me to transfer any steem to you, please return back the steem to clearbluecrypto.

Feel free to Transfer Steem or Up-Vote my Blogs any time... lol...
It may be in your best interest to read my Blogs...
May 16, 2019... #ssg-membership