You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Putting People First on Steem and Rewards Second!

in #steem6 years ago

I think of the line about there being little money in poetry, but little poetry in money. Which is to say, as a professional author, I've learned to live hand to mouth (even after publishing several books) because I view the literary life as a kind of spiritual calling and, as you say, a life of service.

Migrating to Steemit, I thought this might change, but it's been a challenge, financially, 6 months into it. But the reward of doing what you love, and meeting/helping people whose stories you care for, is not (merely) monetary.

So, I continue to post what I hope will inspire others and I'm grateful for new contacts I've made, on this platform, and how it has meant a kind of rebirth for me as a writer on some level: blogging, trying new things, and collaborating with artists.

Thank you, @jerrybanfield, for your support of my recent post on promoting tolerance towards Islam/Muslims. This has become a kind of mission for me and I hope that my posts will continue to interest you.

Thanks, for sharing your experience and for your encouragement.

Onwards & upwards,
Yahia

17021937_10158338426330574_4435418386865038848_n.jpg

Sort:  

Yahia I appreciate you sharing your experience as a writer because you have helped me remember my gratitude that after years of writing online I earn enough to do it full time along with making videos here on Steem!

Doing what you love, full-time, is certainly a privilege. Congratulations, for getting to this special place—with hard work, humility & gratitude.

It’s good of you to, Jerry, to be giving back/helping others, as you were helped along the way. 🙏