My Recent Experience Buying Steem with FreedomEX & Netcoins

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

jgf.1602.jpg

Hello Steem Fam!

A few weeks ago FreedomEX launched a new service for Steemians. We could now buy Steem via Netcoins. This is a really exciting thing!

I mentioned to @exyle that I was going to give FreedomEX and Netcoins a go. He asked if I would let him know how the transaction went. So this is a post to do just that!

Screenshot_20190517-203741_Brave.jpg

Getting my Netcoins account funded took a few days. A simple registration and stuff with the account itself. Then, I had to get fiat into my Netcoins account. This also took a few days.

I found using the Netcoins site a bit confusing. So it took a bit of Customer Support. And, once I figured out how to do the transaction, Steem was not available on the exchange unfortunately. There was no Steem available for sale. The operation was kind of a fail :(

The Netcoins Customer Support have been first class. Very fast and very helpful. I am a seriously green token buyer.

Netcoins promptly returned my funds via etransfer. However, I am still waiting to deposit the etransfer. For some reason it is being held up in my bank. I am not able to deposit it right now. I have used etransfer for years. It has never been an issue to deposit. So this is a strange red flag. They say keep trying back and it should work.

After that caffuffle ~ I took to asking my Steem friends if anyone had any for sale. And, within a few hours I had the purchase done.

So pleasant. And, likely the cheapest way to do it. Only 2.9% fee. Now to POWER UP! #steemtothemoon

Steem on!!

20190218_000839_0001.png

Sort:  

I use Coinbase. The fees are high imo but its super easy.

I don't think Canadians can use Coinbase.

Wow.. I had no idea

Posted using Partiko Android

Tbh i really have no idea either. I think someone told me that. Who knows!! What I do know is that the way to get the lowest fees and the simplest way of buying Steem is to find sellers that are Steemers that you know or that you trust from getting to know them. Hands down.

All true. Google says Canadians can use Coinbase.. deposit from debit card for 4%

Jill, thank you for this! Sorry to read how this went. Strange there wasn't any Steem. I'll do some research.

edit

I dropped a question in the FreedomX discord.

Thank-you Mark! How exciting to get full upvote. Wow!! I hope as time goes on the process to buy and cash out Steem becomes more and more easy. I am still waiting to hear back from Netcoins about how to handle this situation. Easiest would be to buy more Steem as I wanted to but that's also still not possible with my money locked in etransfer limbo. I am glad it's 100 and not 3000 bucks though 🤷‍♀️

Hello Jill - we are glad @exyle brought this to our attention in our discord- and we have released a full explanation here. We apologize for the inconvenience, our partner Netcoins used Binance for their liquidity but cancelled all connections due to the recent hack, for all coins and not only STEEM. They have now reestablished service using Bittrex.

If you are still waiting to hear back from Netcoins, let us know and we will also contact them about your issue, we will make sure there is a resolution to your experience.

All of the Canadian banks have put their foot down to prevent any crypto transactions. I suspect they will hold your e transfer for awhile, maybe a lively phone call will speed things up.

Posted using Partiko Android

Great 🤦‍♀️ We will see! I hope i don't have to yell too loudly. The bank told me they can put in a ticket with etransfer (who is holding up the deposit) once enough ppl complain of the issue. The transfer expires on June 15th, there's no option to decline the transfer or anything. Just an error message. I let Netcouns know so at least there's two of us complaining... Mama Mia. I used QuadrigaEx twice. Which exchange do you use? Thanks for your comment Ed.

Does sound a little dubious with the funds held up I hope its just a delay and clears soon for you

Thanks! I hope it clears up fast too. Unfortunately, Netcoins is not being as prompt as they were at returning my emails. And, the bank started asking a zillion questions i didn't feel comfortable answering in order to get etransfer to look into it. Quite frustrating. I am glad it's 100 beans and not 3 grand.

Luckily as you say its 100 beans, but it must be so frustrating with all the questions, good luck with resolving it