dMania Bot v.3.1 - Vote distribution check for supporters

in #steem6 years ago

Recently I released an update to improve the curation and post selection quality of the dMania bot. dMania supporters control the upvotes of the dMania bot since the last update. You can read more about it here -> Curation by dMania supporters.

I think the last update improved the quality a lot and is a step in the right direction. There was only one problem that I already mentioned in my last post. Supporters could possibly exploit the bot by self voting or group voting. With this update I will provide a solution for that.

The problem with voting on Steem

The voting behavior on Steem is very different to other social networks. Users have a very high incentive to upvote themselves. On other social networks people upvote mostly stuff they like, not only their own posts or a few selected users.
Selfish voting is very bad for curation and identifying the best content. Everyone thinks their content is the best and wants to get rewarded. Unfortunately most of the time that's not the case.
People also posts a lot more on Steem than they would on other networks. There are more people who post and less people who only vote on content.

That's why I came up with a system to force supporters who want to influence the bot votes on dMania to vote fair and unselfish.

Voting distribution check for supporters


dMania now checks the voting distribution of all supporters. If a supporters upvotes too selfish or doesn't distribute his votes over enough users, then he will be excluded from the selection process. Supporters who are excluded from curation can still receive upvotes from the bot, but they can't influence the post selection process.
You can see all supporters who are authorized/unauthorized for curation on the supporters page. Green indicates authorized and yellow unauthorized.

Gini–Simpson Index


dMania uses the Gini-Simposn Index to measure your vote distribution. The Gini-Simpson Index is the probability that two vote allocations taken at random are not to the same account. An index of 0 means only voting for one account. An index of 1 means spreading your votes over as many accounts as possible.
dMania supporters need a minimum of 0.97 to be authorized for curation.
You can check your vote distribution on Steemreports. Note that Steemreports shows your vote distribution on Steem, where as dMania only cares about your vote distribution on dMania.

Good distribution


 

Bad distribution



No more voting strength minimum

The last update had an requirement for supporters who can adjust their voting strength (Users with more than 500 SP) to upvote with at least 50%. I removed that requirement. You can use any voting strength you like and the voting strength will be correctly evaluated. That means if you upvote with 50% and you have delegated 500 SP, the post will credited with an 250 SP supporter vote.



How to become an authorized supporter?

At the moment most supporters are unauthorized. Only 1/3 or 1/4 are authorized. The reason for that is that most users haven't had an incentive to upvote fair and unselfish so far. Now they have. To become an authorized supporter, just vote like you would vote on any other platform. Upvote stuff you like and try to spread your votes over many users. Don't just upvote yourself or a few users.
Selfish voting or group voting is now limited to a minimum.

Only the last two weeks of votes are analyzed. If you are unauthorized at the moment, just vote as fair as possible from now on.


Supporter vote selling

Selling supporter votes is forbidden on dMania. dMania supporters are not allowed to sell their votes. If a dMania supporter sells his votes, he will be blacklisted. You can still use voting bots to promote your posts if you want to.



Support dMania


dMania supporters receive 15% of the rewards on dMania and control the upvotes of the dMania bot. The dMania bot uses the collected Steem Power from supporters to upvote posts on dMania. To become a dMania supporter, you have to delegate some Steem Power to dMania. The minimum is only 5 Steem Power. The more Steem Power you delegate, the higher your rewards and the more power you have on dMania. By delegating Steem Power, you are lending your Steem Power to dMania. The Steem Power still belongs to you.

Supporters

There are already over 450 dMania supporters.

@misterdelegation
@snubbermike
@lafona-miner
@spotlight
@cnts
@vonabell
@bwells
@zombee
@inertia
@elgeko
@picklejar
@neworleans
@mat1973
@equ1l1br1um
@datapotomus
@kalvas
@vitruvianman
@sazbird
@northeast
@whatsup
... and many more


If you have any questions join our Discord server


Please upvote, post and comment on dMania to support this project. Every single upvote counts. You can contact me on Discord if you find any bugs or if you have ideas for new features. Please resteem and upvote this post and tell everyone you know who likes memes about dMania. Follow @dmania and @zombee to get the latest updates about this project. 


Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Dear @zombee,
I wanted to inform you of an opportunity that #promo-steem has for you and other major projects on the steem blockchain.
We are the media partners for the London Crypto Currency Show on 14th April. In return for this, we have managed to get our hands on 14,000 usd of promotional access in the form of 2 x hour long presentation seminars and one 4 x 3m exhibition stand.
Instead of using the presentation time and exhibition stand to ourselves we decided to let the major projects and notable steemians use it. So we are giving away talking spots and the opportunity exhibit at our stand for free.
This is quite a big deal since the London Crytpo Currency Show is organised by the London Investors Show, a well-established, long term investing exhibition which brings in crowds of 2,500 experienced investors through its doors at most events. This is therefore an excellent opportunity for the steem blockchain to make a strong mark at one of the premier blockchain events in the UK, and Europe basically for free.
Please see this blog for further details. I hope you are interested in either sending someone from your project to talk at one of the seminars, supporting the event or spreading the word to other major projects or notable steemians. https://steemit.com/promo-steem/@starkerz/exhibition-opportunity-call-to-steem-projects-at-london-crypto-currency-show
I look forward to hearing from you!
@starkerz

Simple but effective solution to distribute the votes! More Steem based applications should implement this. Self voting is a bad thing to do I, was guilty my self for this and stopped upvoting myself for reasons.

  1. One day the self vote may be not rewarding for in the future and you may get a penalty to do it like flags by abusive behavior bots.

  2. You do not contribute to the cummunity so in the end you would not get any profit from it.

  3. Your chances of getting organic growth in steem followers decreases and fake steem accounts will follow you more likely to get a upvote from you in the future when you are planning to blog more

  4. When you give, you get. Thats what steem was intended to do so.

Ofcoure, everyone has voted his or her comment or post in the past and does not make you bad, but the abusive adventage behavior does not make you rich one day. Since you have reputation power, it will link your account to trust worthy and a taste that you actually give something to the comunnity.

Once you are willing to give, you will earn. Just like our steem witnesses.

Great solution/improvement and it gave me more reason to like Dmania because of the fair and not-so-random spread of the reward distribution :)

How will voting strength affect the distribution?

What if an user upvotes others just 10% and 100% towards his own memes?

If he does that, his gini-simpson index won't be above the required 0.97. It will be a bad voting distribution like the distribution that I included in the post.

This sounds like a great group to be especially with the new changes you guys are doing. How much do we need to delegate? What is the best link or steps for a newbie like myself to learn from?

You can read about it here: https://dmania.lol/supporters

That's fantastic.... Selfishness will reduce the fun of dmania .

Thanks for the update

dmania.lol is not loading, do you know why?

I'm having the same issue. It is still not working for me today. @focusedguy @zombee @dmania

I saw on the Discord chat group that some users in Turkey and other countries are being blocked from dMania, but it appears to be on your guys' end. Either your country or ISP must be blocking it for some reason. It's nothing to do with Steemit/dMania from what I saw.

Some people were using VPN's to get around it I believe.

same here.

I'm having the same problem. I haven't been able to get on dmania all day.

Is your Dmania working yet

C-_Users_Hero-Rasseru_Desktop_steem-goku.gif

"PLEASE EVERYONE, HELP STEEM GOKU GATHER ALL HIS ENERGY!!"

(secret; steem goku changes form as he grows)

@zombee I like these new changes, they seem a little fairer, it is not perfect yet but at least it is better than before.
by the way, because this publication has a negative vote of @randowhale?

Thank you @zombee this is great news for the user dMania.. Thank for update

I am able to delegate as many as 20 Steem Power @zombee considering my Steem Power is only 33 Steem Power and How is my chance to get upvote from bot @dmania...?

Dear @zombee,
I wanted to inform you of an opportunity that #promo-steem has for you and other major projects on the steem blockchain.
Simple but effective solution to distribute the votes! More Steem based applications should implement this. Self voting is a bad thing to do I, was guilty my self for this and stopped upvoting myself for reasons.
How will voting strength affect the distribution?

What if an user upvotes others just 10% and 100% towards his own memes?
This sounds like a great group to be especially with the new changes you guys are doing. How much do we need to delegate? What is the best link or steps for a newbie like myself to learn from?
Really sir @zombee , I glad to read your whole article's. It make me gainer of knowledge. I hope all steemian brothers and sisters follow up your instructions.

I have been unable to login in to dmania since this morning. I get an error message every time i try to go to the site. How do I get my sp delegation i sent over back if I cannot login to the site?

I always dmania funny post use but dmania don't upvote. Please give dmania posting rules

Really sir @zombee , I glad to read your whole article's. It make me gainer of knowledge. I hope all steemian brothers and sisters follow up your instructions. Truly that , maximum time we did self vote for reach our comments power and getting some rewards. Really that is very bad sensation. I agree with you.
Thanks sir, for your awareness post And Thanks for your another space on Dmania.
Bye the way, I'll join this platform as soom.
Upvote+resteem done

Thanks for the educational post and it'll helping for dmania users . I appreciate your content. Truly me that , I'll join in Dmania by next morning and I'll visit your project. I think next morning made my day by the signup on Dmania. I hope you'll be held me and support me on this bot.
Thanks for the great share

its looks like a great chnage but..

what will happen when there are not enough authorized supporters to fill all 24 vote slots per day? now most of the authorized are not to active probably :D

Some are authorized. If no authorized supporter votes, then the bot won't vote.

maybe if its not a problem change the index to 0.9 and add 0.01 evry second day and will be 0.97 in 14 days not a sharp change

just an idea, but only if u could easy implement this

Finaly something fair.

Thanks zombee :) It was very good

A very accurate decision :) Thank you DMANİA :)

Good job!! FB_IMG_1520891160109.jpg

Dear @zombee and all supporters of dMania.

I am not so sure this will work well, but at least I am very happy with this update. and I also really hope the delegators choose all the posts they like, not looking at feathers, whether he's a plankton, a minnow, or something.
what does it mean that posts will receive upvote from dMania only posts that have pocketed $ 0.970 ?, whether that value must come from dMania supporters.

hopefully dMania more successful. thanks @zombee, thanks @dMania.

This is an interesting development @zombee, because after getting a dmania vote a month ago, I haven't gotten again and I have been a fair playing on dmania.

This new adjustment seems fair.

I appreciate your effort to make it more fair.

Regards @yaanivapeji.

Good post and amazing

Been offline for a bit, and this is the first post I see, one that makes sense.
Going to read up more about this.

Will you ever include the ability to post more than one image at a time?

Be good 👍

Many people do not work selflessly. Because of them, we lose interest from small users. Our supporter decreases. In this way people oppose it without getting success in dmania. We want solutions. Bacause I like dmania. I want to get success in dmania.

fair voting is nice

Great update! This is how it should be. Hopefully abuse can be lessened with this update. Though, those who are determined to game the system will probably find a loophole, this update is definitely a step in the right direction. Great work and more success to dMania.

This is a huge step in the right direction. I'll be good to finally be noticed on dmania for once. I hope this update is as effective as you have stated @zombee

You can still use voting bots to promote your posts if you want to

It is not fair for steemian who has no SBD to promote his post. If dmania just find and vote top posts.

You don't need voting bots to get to the Trending page on dMania. There are posts there with less than $0.1 rewards.

Hey zombee, I delegated 226 SP over 3 days ago but the supporters page is still saying received/pending is $0.

Can you confirm why I am not getting rewards? Is it just I am currently below the threshold? Do I only get a share of posts I upvote? Is it because I haven’t been picked as a Chosen one yet?

Does this mean i'll have to reward memes that aren't funny just to distribute votes more? Most of the funny ones are posted by the same group of people based on what i've seen.

I used Steemreports and have a 0.99x vote distribution. How do i check the stats for only dmania?

You don't have to vote stuff that you don't like but you have to spread your votes. There are enough good posts on dMania that don't get many votes.

Atm you can't check the distribution on dMania, but I will probably show it somewhere in the next update or so.

Ah okay. How long does it take for the authorization thing to refresh on the supporters' page?

hey! @howtostartablog thanks for the help the other day with delegation! I really appreciate the time you took to let me know how things work!. I have posted a meme today and I have received over 170 upvotes on it so far, I would like to remain humble by saying I feel my meme is not nonsense and I find it relatively funny, however I do understand that individual's tastes may vary :D I was wondering exactly who you have to be voted by to actually get enough weight for the Dmania upvote? someone in the top 10? sorry I don't really understand the system. I am very sorry to be a bother! have a wonderful day!

if you look at today's update, only supporters/delegators who are authorized will have their votes counted in influencing the dmania bot. Yeah if you're voted on by one of the higher sp delegators then your chance is better. ur meme has to stay on Steemit's hot page / dmania's trending as well..

thank you for replying! I will try!

be ahead @zombee your post is very helpful for me.

Thank you for this update.

Hihihi... How funny

Thank you @zombee this is great news for the user dMania.. Thank for update
How will voting strength affect the distribution?

What if an user upvotes others just 10% and 100% towards his own memes?

![](https://steemitimages.com
/DQmRsRwQoMgFHTp7cgTcwL9fqVZXmaZBmAPyYsTTo5uR97p
/image.png)
Thanks for the educational post and it'll helping for dmania users . I appreciate your content.

@zombee I have found proof of someone circumventing your new system. he just gamed it to get a Dmania upvote on a fresh account. 6 hours old with an insanely accurate "ive been around the block" steemit meme the person that gifted the fraud account also upvoted the post.

Congratulations @zombee, this post is the tenth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Hero account holder (accounts that hold between 10 and 100 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Hero account holders during this period was 395 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $5804.25. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Awesome changes in the last two updates. I'm digging this system a lot and it should bring more valuable memes to the platform.

this is very fair and I am with you.

You do not support some real worker.plz support him who work hardly it my wish . And thanks u

@Zombee how with them which delegation 5SP to dmania, whether they will get upvote from dmania?

I use SmartSteem as a vote selling tool on Steemit as a passive strategy if I'm away and my steempower is high. Does that mean that I'm going to be black listed? I just delegated 300 Steem Power before I saw that. If I'm going to be blacklisted for using that service does that mean my Delegation doesn't ever earn me anything? I also have a Gini-Simpson Index rating of 0.972 but again does that mean I'll be prohibited from becoming verified for curation? I don't really understand any of this...

I like the changes zombee. I thought I was doing a better job of upvoting others.

Questions: Do the votes I make only count if I make them on the dmania site? Or does it count if I make them on a dmania post using the steemit app?

Thank you for distributing the steem!

There are 2 pages
Pages