You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 1 - Steem Advent Calendar 2017, Win prize everyday! πŸŽ„πŸŽ

in #steemadvent β€’ 7 years ago (edited)

The thing I like most about Steem is the fact that it's a great way to introduce someone to cryptos that may have otherwise shown no real interest in the technology/space as a whole. As an example of this I tried several times to speak with my family about investing in cryptos but was shot down every time with looks of pure disinterest in the topic. So instead of trying to sell them on what blockchain is, why bitcoin is a good investment, what some of the good alt coins are going to do, and so on, I instead got them hooked to Steemit. By explaining that Steemit is a social platform somewhat similar to Facebook but it gives actual value for your good content, it quickly became as easy sale and all of them quickly signed up and started using the platform to test it out. From there, over the next several days/weeks they started asking more and more questions about not only Steemit, and how the various Steem currencies work (steem vs steem power vs steem dollars) but also started asking questions about some of the other cryptos that I had tried to talk to them about for months like OMG or PPT (as they all of a sudden gained a lot of interest in the topic of cryptos in general). And now they are much more open to the idea of learning what cryptos are, why they have value, how they can change the world, and how average people can not only get involved but can potentially profit greatly from them. Most of my family now has an account on an exchange and is actively investing in some of the major cryptos like bitcoin, ethereum, litecoin and a few alt coins which I have told them about (and so far all have made amazing returns and couldn't be happier they got in). Understand that this would of almost certainly never happened if it wasn't for Steem as their entry point into the space, and to them I now refer to Steemit as the "Gateway Drug" of the crypto world.

Anyways that's my story about why I think Steemit is awesome!

PS, I love the idea of the daily Advent Calendar, will be following daily to see whats next!