You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Final Update for Steem Apps in 2018 (Update #3)

in #steemapps5 years ago (edited)

Happy New Year!

Thanks for the review, @helo.

I can understand that few/no comments and big commits are not a best practice. It's something I want to work on, but I'm a practical developer. Formatted posts, more smaller commits, comments & explanations, etc. - all of that is icing on the cake, in my opinion. The important part is the code.

And I've spend at least a working day on the given PR. Since you're a developer, you know that code doesn't just magically appear, but has to be written, tested, tweaked, fixed, written again, etc.

Now, I want to be very clear about one thing: I haven't created this project for monetary reasons. It's open-source and has the simple goal to bring as much value as possible to Steem.

However, since Utopian is on Steem and leveraging the reward pool, I thought utopian would show a bit more support for the submitted PR. Again, I believe that the missing things are icing on the cake, but the important part, the code and the invested time for it, has been delivered.

Everything is about incentives. If people see that valuable projects for Steem, are getting a lot more rewards than contributions for projects, which have absolutely nothing to do with Steem, then people will focus their attention & energy on the valuable projects.

And honestly, isn't this what we all need on Steem? More valuable projects which are increasing the value of Steem? And which are worth the debt of inflated tokens they receive?

With that said; those are just my thoughts - I'll keep on improving Steem Apps, regardless of rewards or upvotes, but I'd appreciate it, if my written text would be taken seriously. I want Utopian to succeed and to attract & reward as many of the best developers, as possible.