In Search off....STORY STEEMARTISTS

in #steemartists6 years ago

Finding an art community on the road is sometimes difficult and after almost a year travelling, I've been feeling drained. My husband Roger went to Coronado National Monument to do some photography and while at the Ranger Station, found a flyer about how to Journal in Nature workshop held by Linda Feltner. I was going!! Her work is amazing and I needed to hear and see.

The drive for the RV Park we are at in Huachuca ,Arizona is about 45 minutes from the Monument so I grabbed my rucksack and off I went. Linda brought her journals and a box of artwork that she has done to show us different ways watercolor and drawings react on different papers. Her to-go sketch kit, watercolor pencils and ways to make your own kit was informative and so fun to see. Her approach is joyful and energetic..I was coming alive again.

IMG_6455.JPG

IMG_6457.JPG

Two Park Rangers came to the site we were at and brought various boxes of leaves, pods, antlers and animal pelts for us to feel and draw or we could go out on our own and find something that interests us. I chose to wander off a bit since there were a few kids and after awhile they wanted to run around rather than concentrate, but they came which was cool.

IMG_6464.JPG

The hard part about this excersize was I had to actually concentrate at what I was doing. One would think I'd just sit down and out would come an amazing piece of art, yeah..well, no. Pencils were smudging way too much and I was far away from what I wanted. Not a landscape painting here Sheila.

I was using a white gel paint pen and Linda mentioned that she loved doing graphite and white gouache washes. My eyes lit up as I told her about my series of rodeo cowboys. We agreed we'd meet up after I finished suffering concentrating on the leaves and tree trunk bark and I think I closed up shop right there and then.

SHOW AND TELL

http://2018.conf.gnsi.org/program/workshops

On this workshop page you can see one of her owl drawings using the white gouache highlighting the owl. I was in love.

IMG_5931.JPG

This is the one I showed to her. It was a mutual appreciation moment.

WHAT ELSE DID I SEE

I didn't get the photo of the rattlesnake I passed on the way into the park and planned on getting it maybe when I was leaving. It was my first real rattler with diamonds on his back and to me he looked huge. We would see pygmy Rattlers in Florida at night laying on the pavement to get warm, but this guy..a little scary to this city girl out in the West.

One of the Rangers at the table answering questions.

IMG_6459.JPG

This photo you can wonder was I taking a photo of the great looking Ranger or the table of animal pelts. ;-)

IMG_6461.JPG

So after two hours were over it was time to drive home again to the RV Park.

IMG_6939 - Edited.jpg

IMG_6940 - Edited.jpg

Warmly,
Sheila

All images are my @originalworks

Linda Feltner info from the internet

Sort:  

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Hi Sheila! I met Roger some time ago because I too am a member of @steemitbloggers, but he is not much of a chatter, so I had no idea his wife was on here as well :) I happened to see a comment he made to you on a post and had to check out your page. I am a stick-man artist myself, but I have tried pottery and watercolour before...loved thme both, but my work has got nothing on your 'rodeo cowboy' here. It is simply stunning!!

I am a member of a few groups here who also have Discord channels and if you're interested, you might find other artists there to share your work with. Using Discord is a great way to just meet others, ask questions, share your posts or anything else you can think of really ;) The two that I'm going to share with you also welcome, support, and mentor new and not-so-new folks here, because truthfully, it can all get a little discouraging sometimes when you work so hard on something, only to have .03 cents on a post after seven days! I've found that the more I immerse myself in these communities, the more people eventually come to see what I am up to.

If you are interested, Here is the Discord channel invite for @newbieresteemday and the Discord channel invite for @asapers. They both have a "start here" channel to check out, but I'm sure Roger, knowing Discord from steemitbloggers could easily show you.

I also do curating for @asapers and would love to showcase your work there, but of course you need to be a member for me to do that. We have a READ ME ASAP newsletter that goes out several times a week highlighting different members' work. It's also an awesome group full of very kind and welcoming people, and if you join using the link above, you are then a member and can showcase the @asapers' banner at the bottom of your blogs. It's the same for @newbieresteemday.

In fact, I'm going to come back with my @newbieresteemday hat on and resteem this so you get more exposure! It really is all about making connections here and I found the best way to do that is to get out there and comment, comment, comment ;)

I just threw all kinds of information at you, but if you have any questions, please feel free to ask! And by the way, there's no reason why Roger can't join @asapers as well ;) We'd love to have you both!

Cheers! ...and tell Roger from me that he should be bragging about his talented wife here haha

Hi Lynne,
So nice to meet you, Roger has mentioned you a few times and said that we should connect. I'd love to join @asapers and @newbieresteemday so I will definetly check them both out. I did download Discord at onetime so I am a smidge ahead here. lol

It does get discouraging after trying so many ways of sharing so I'm hopeful for the new direction.

Thank you for reaching out...told roger about @asapers so he will join too.<3
I'll keep in touch..

Hi Sheila, it's so nice to meet you as well. Sorry, I haven't been in touch, but Brian, my husband, has had a couple of rough days but is back to 'normal' now. I'm not sure if Roger told you, but Brian has cancer and we moved to Mexico from Canada to live out his days, so to speak. We're hoping for a while yet (we've been here 8 months), but you never know.

Anyway, I'm glad you got settled into Discord. I'm going to pass your post on to @asapers in the hopes of it going in the newsletter. Actually, not this one because it's too close to the 7-day cut-off, so I'll have a look, as their curator, at your newer ones ;)

Hi Lynne,
Roger did tell me about Brian. Roger and I both send positive healing energies for him. My daughters best friend has ALS. She recently beat the 5 year mark but of course ALS has done the damage. We think her children keep her on this side. On days I may feel bad about aging I think of her and now your Brian. It's all a gift, aging.

I'll be doing a new blog today..thanks Lynn. <3

Thank you so much for that!

It's all a gift, aging.

It certainly is! If I knew then, what I know now...

I'll stop by and check out your post for sure ;)

Joined group but can't find the how to do it page and have no clue what to do. LOL LOL Totally lost. Help!! Please.

hahaha I'm on there now if you're still around ;)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=swedegis
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=in-search-off-story-steemartists


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you!

Great post! The photos are awesome!

thank you and it was an amazing day all around!!