You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Basic Income Giveaway #4 (I was wrong!)

in #steembasicincome6 years ago (edited)

I think these might both be silly, but the first one I guess had a greater consequence. The second one just made me look ridiculous.
By the way, thanks for running the contest.

  1. I've always been absent-minded. When it came time that everyone around me learned to drive, I refused. I was certain I did not belong on the road because I was so absent-minded. Then I moved to the suburbs. I continued to refuse--for about a year. Getting around was tortuous, so I finally relented. I went through a bunch of fender benders, but eventually learned to pay attention. Now, I'm a great driver. I also don't lose my keys anymore.
  2. I traveled to Spain as a young, single woman. My Spanish was poor, but I was an eager learner. As I went about my travels in conservative Andalucia, I apologized for my poor Spanish by saying, "Estoy embarazada". I thought I was saying, "I'm embarrassed". What I was actually saying was, "I'm pregnant". It took me weeks to discover my error.
Sort:  

I was the same about riding bikes (in Netherlnads), I would always take public transport. However, now I'm always keen to bike (mostly, although as I've gotten older, I find it less fun to be drenched). I still love driving and taking public transport, but I'm terrible with locking my keys in the car... It happens about every 3 months or so, so I've learnt how to open the car with shoelaces...

LOL, I can't stop laughing at the second one! I can't even imagine the reactions of other people!

Shoelaces, I' trying to see it..... :))

Google a Youtube video... it's disturbingly easy...

Thanks for entering my SBI giveaway. The winners and a new question "What are your reading?" are here:

https://steemit.com/steembasicincome/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-what-are-you-reading