You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Basic Income Giveaway #4 (I was wrong!)

Here's my shot.

Trivial: when my friends taught me poker, they made up fake rules. After that, I tried explaining the game to other people, they just stared at me, stifling their laughter. Eventually I caught on to the joke!

Serious: way back when, I was eight or nine, one afternoon I was left alone with my beloved puppy. And I wanted to treat him, so I shared with him my chocolate bars. Alas poor Billy did not survive the night. Seeing how heartbroken I was, my parents had the vet lie, he told me the puppy had hurt himself with broken glass. Years later, I would learn I had poisoned him.

Sort:  

That's a terrible story--so sorry. Wise parents.

I remember playing that card trick with some friends of mine as well... Ahhhh good times!

So sorry about the serious one though. Although, it really was the right call by your parents. As a relatively new parent, I'm starting to see the wisdom of little white lies. But knowing when the truth is more important than the protective lie will be tricky...

Thanks for entering my SBI giveaway. The winners and a new question "What are your reading?" are here:

https://steemit.com/steembasicincome/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-what-are-you-reading