You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nature Identification Contest (NIC) - win Steem Basic Income - Fridays rock edition - V.8

in #steembasicincome โ€ข 5 years ago (edited)

Nice shot, Neli! As always. ๐Ÿ™‚

I would say we are looking at Mirabilis jalapa known as Marvel-of-Peru or Four o'clock. This beautiful flower can be admired only during the late afternoons and nights. Like a botanical Cinderella, it dissappears in the morning (the flower, not the whole plant). Does it have a sweet delicate scent?

As always, not 100% sure but this is my guess. ๐Ÿ™‚

Sort: ย 

You have guessed the name of the flower. ๐Ÿ˜€
The supervisor of the people who take care in the garden told me another name, more likely a nickname of that flower. It was something like dawn-dusk. But its real name is Mirabilis jalapa after I googled it.
The funny story is that at lunch time within a week time, I was walking near the flower waiting to see it blooming. And then two days ago arriving at work early in the morning I saw it in full bloom and just then I understood that it is actually a night flower and shortly after I took few shots it closed again for the rest of the day. ๐Ÿ˜€

What a funny story, my dear Neli. I remember something similar happening to me with the jasmine tobacco flower. Why wasn't blooming properly? Until one night when I was searching for one of the cats. And I saw this flower fully bloomed and so strong scented.
Truly, nature is the greatest magician. ๐Ÿ™‚