Reviving the (Steem) Beast: Episode 1

in #steembeast7 years ago

My Beast is a Little Run Down

I have owned my 1997 Chevrolet K2500 Suburban for three years. In that time, I have driven it to California three times, once with a boat in tow,

2015-08-01 12.32.49.jpg

and once we drove to San Bernadino and drove a tiny house to northwestern Oregon.

2015-08-15 08.14.20.jpg

It has also been to Texas and to South Carolina, where it endured a hurricane that bent the trailer it sat next to

20160820_103039.jpg

I have even hauled dirt in it.

2015-05-31 09.21.03.jpg

My family of six was also unfortunate enough to have to live in The Beast for a couple of months. The Suburban is very much a part of the family. We literally owe this truck our lives. We will never part with it. Now that we are more settled and I have a large amount of space to work, I want to give our poor baby a refresher. It has some rough spots and about 320 thousand miles( not sure, the odometer has never worked) give or take of wear and tear.

20160609_202335.jpg

Being an expert auto mechanic, this project is not only well within my skill set, but it will be a lot cheaper than paying someone to do the work. Having said that, I have very little experience doing body work. It is an art form and a wholly different specialization from the mechanical end of things. I will be learning and growing my skill set in this series because I will be doing all of the work except paint. I do not have the facilities to properly paint a vehicle, though I am really good at spraying.

There are things I would like to add to the Suburban as well as some things I will be removing. Below are all of the before pictures, and after those, I will discuss some of my plans for going forward with this adventure.

20170722_174443_HDR.jpgThe grill is plastic and has to go. I will be replacing the front bumper and adding a winch.

20170722_173819_HDR.jpgIt needs paint badly

20170722_173733_HDR.jpgThe driver door handle came off in South Carolina. That inspired me to delete them altogether

20170722_173722_HDR.jpgI am going to install a nice luggage rack/kayak holder.

20170722_174323_HDR.jpgThis window broke one day when I shut the door, so I will have to replace it.

20170722_173902_HDR.jpgThe interior is in bad shape as well.


Mechanical

  • The engine, transmission, and axles are in really good shape for their age, however, I plan on securing replacements which I will rebuild and then swap out. It does need a distributor, which is broken. I will be replacing it with a high energy ignition system.

  • The front suspension is in bad shape. It needs a steering box, tie rods, a center link, springs, shocks and bushings. It also needs bearings and a brake upgrade. Luckily some of that comes with the lift kit I plan on installing.

  • It needs universal joints in both driveshafts.

  • It will have new rims with bigger tires.


Getting Started

  • I will start by sanding and preparing the body, getting rid of the door handles and all of the non-metal parts on the outside of the truck (Chevy symbols, plastic trim, etc.).

  • I will be doing video and picture updates as things progress.

  • I will be posting a concept of what I want this project to turn out as. Think rolling billboard!

  • The truck will now have a new name "Steem Beast". That is the tag that I will be posting this under from now on. #steembeast

  • Please keep watching and supporting. I can't do this without a little help.

Thanks for hanging in there with me. I love ya!

I welcome your opinions, concepts, color schemes, whatever. Please be part of the conversation.

I am open to sponsors. A sponsorship will buy you space on the Steem Beast for your @username or your website.

Sort:  

I love family cars that have been there since day 1, can't wait to see your updates !!

It's old, but it has a lot of life left in it.