Paul's Letter to Filemon: A Call to Grace and Forgiveness

in #steemchurch6 years ago (edited)

Some six years before his execution in Rome, Paul sent a personal note to a friend in the church of Colossae called Philemon.

This little letter, which would rather be a postcard, is the shortest of all Paul's writings. But don't let its size fool you, it contains a magnificent study of forgiveness. In short, it is a warm plea for Philemon, a slave owner, to forgive and accept back into his home a runaway slave named Onesimus, who had become a follower of Christ because of Paul's preaching. Just as Christ acts as the defender of Christians before God, Paul acts as the defender of Onesimus before Philemon. Paul's letter to Philemon is of great practical value to us today. It teaches us about giving others a second chance, the equality that believers have in Christ, and the power of the Gospel to transcend cultural and socioeconomic barriers. Surely, this postcard to Philemon reminds us of grace.

source

Philemon

Chapter 01

1:1 Paul the prisoner of Jesus Christ, and Timothy our brother Philemon, our beloved helper,
1:2 And the beloved sister Apia, and Archippus our fellow soldier, and the church that is in thy house:
1:3 Grace and peace to you from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.
1:4 I give thanks unto my God, always remembering thee in my prayers,
1:5 For I hear of your love and faith toward the Lord Jesus, and toward all the saints;
1:6 That the sharing of your faith may be effective in the knowledge of all the good that is in you through Jesus Christ.
1:7 For we have great joy and consolation in thy love: for through thee, O brother, are the hearts of the saints comforted.
1:8 Wherefore, though I have great liberty in Christ to command thee that which is good in Christ,
1:9 But I pray thee for love, being as I am Paul an old man, and now also a prisoner of Jesus Christ;
1:10 I pray thee for my son Onesimus, whom I begot in my bonds,
1:11 Who was once unprofitable to thee: but now to thee and to me is it useful,
1:12 And I will send thee again, and thou shalt receive him as myself.
1:13 I would that I should keep him with me, that he might serve me in my bonds in thy stead for the gospel;
1:14 But I would not do anything without thy consent, that thy favor might not be of necessity, but of a willing nature.
1:15 For perhaps for this cause he departed from thee for a while, that thou mightest receive him for ever;
1:16 Not as a servant, but as more than a slave, as a brother beloved, most of all to me: but how much more to thee in the flesh, and in the Lord.
1:17 Wherefore, if thou have me for a companion, receive him as I have received him.
1:18 And if he hath hurt thee in any thing, or oweth thee, put it in mine hand.
1:19 I Paul write it by my hand, and I will pay it: for thou hast not said that thou owest me also even thyself.
1:20 Yea, brother, let me profit from thee in the Lord; comfort my heart in the Lord.
1:21 I have written unto thee, trusting in thy obedience, knowing that thou shalt do more than I say unto thee.
1:22 Prepare me also lodging: for I hope that by your prayers I will be granted unto you.
1:23 Epaphras, my fellow prisoner in Christ Jesus, saluteth thee,
1:24 Mark, and Aristarchus, and Demas, and Luke, my helpers.
1:25 The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with your spirit. Amen.

God through his word left us a clear message and it is about LOVE AND FORGIVENESS.

May God continue to bless you