The Blessings of Obedience


Src

In my previous post, I discussed Consequenties of Disobedience and Partial Obedience. You can kindly check it out HERE

In this post, we want to look at the blessings of Obedience

Obedience implies compliance with the demands and requests of the one in authority. It is an act or instance of submitting to an authority.

For the purpose of this post, the focus will be on submitting to the authority of God.
Obedience to God is an obligation stressed in both the old and new testaments.
There are numerous blessings attached to obedience.

We need to study what we will gain by hearkening to the voice of God and look at some other people who obeyed God in the bible.

Wherefore it shall come to pass, if ye hearken to these judgments, and keep, and do them, that the LORD thy God shall keep unto thee the covenant and the mercy which he sware unto thy fathers
Deuteronomy 7:12

If ye walk in my statutes, and keep my commandments, and do them;
Then I will give you rain in due season, and the land shall yield her increase, and the trees of the field shall yield their fruit.
And your threshing shall reach unto the vintage, and the vintage shall reach unto the sowing time: and ye shall eat your bread to the full, and dwell in your land safely.
And I will give peace in the land, and ye shall lie down, and none shall make you afraid: and I will rid evil beasts out of the land, neither shall the sword go through your land.
And ye shall chase your enemies, and they shall fall before you by the sword.
And five of you shall chase a hundred, and a hundred of you shall put ten thousand to flight: and your enemies shall fall before you by the sword.
For I will have respect unto you, and make you fruitful, and multiply you, and establish my covenant with you.
And ye shall eat old store, and bring forth the old because of the new.
And I set my tabernacle among you: and my soul shall not abhor you.
And I will walk among you and will be your God, and ye shall be my people.
I am the LORD your God, which brought you forth out of the land of Egypt, that ye should not be their bondmen; and I have broken the bands of your yoke, and made you go upright.
Leviticus 26:3-13

To receive the magnitude of blessings which are contained in Leviticus 26:3-13 and Deuteronomy 28:1-14. The following dimensions of obedience are necessary.

  • You must HEARKEN diligently to the voice of the Lord
  • You must OBSERVE His commandments
  • You must DO His commandments which He has commanded.
Note these three keywords: “Hearken, Observe and Do”

image.png
Src

The Blessings of Obedience

God will become an enemy to the enemies of those who follow Him wholeheartedly.

But if thou shalt indeed obey his voice, and do all that I speak; then I will be an enemy unto thine enemies, and an adversary unto thine adversaries.
Exodus 23:22

Diseases will be kept away from those who obey God’s commandment diligently.

If thou wilt diligently hearken to the voice of the LORD thy God, and wilt do that which is right in his sight, and wilt give ear to his commandments and keep all his statutes, I will put none of these diseases upon thee, which I have brought upon the Egyptians: for I am the LORD that healeth thee.
Exodus 15:26

They will become peculiar treasures to God.

Now, therefore, if ye will obey my voice indeed, and keep my covenant, then ye shall be a peculiar treasure unto me above all people: for all the earth is mine:
Exodus 19:5

God’s blessings will pour endlessly on those who obey Him

And it shall come to pass, if thou shalt hearken diligently unto the voice of the LORD thy God, to observe and to do all his commandments which I command thee this day, that the LORD thy God will set thee on high above all nations of the earth:
Deuteronomy 28:1

Those that obey God faithfully will enjoy a life of freedom.

I am the LORD your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt so you would no longer be their slaves. I broke the yoke of slavery from your neck so you can walk with your heads held high.
Leviticus 26:13

Those that obey God diligently will enjoy sound health

Beloved, I wish above all things that thou mayest prosper and be in health, even as thy soul prospereth.
3 John 1:2

There are greater rewards in obedience, obedience brings about blessings that last a lifetime and gives peace of mind and joy while having hope for eternal rest. It is better to obey.

Sort:  

Elevating post sir. All wonderfully condensed:

  • Hearken
  • Observe
  • Do

They aren't hard are they? May Jesus Christ, the Lord of Glory help us get to heaven and keep his commandments, amen.