CHARITY versus LOVE

in #steemchurch5 years ago

A closer look at when words in the Bible get changed through time, 1Corinthians 13:13

ARAMAIC - Peshitta
1Co 13:13 ܗܠܝܢ ܐܢܝܢ ܓܝܪ ܬܠܬ ܕܡܟܬܪܢ ܗܝܡܢܘܬܐ ܘܤܒܪܐ ܘܚܘܒܐ ܕܪܒ ܕܝܢ ܡܢܗܝܢ ܚܘܒܐ
1Co 13:13 For there are these three things that endure: Faith, Hope and Love, but the greatest of these is Love.

GREEK - Stephanus Textus Receptus 1550
1Co 13:13 νυνὶ δὲ μένει πίστις ἐλπίς ἀγάπη τὰ τρία ταῦτα· μείζων δὲ τούτων ἡ ἀγάπη
1Co 13:13 Now however abide faith, hope, love, these three things, the greatest however of these is love.

BISHOPS BIBLE 1568
1Co 13:13 Nowe abydeth fayth, hope, and loue, these three, but the chiefe of these is loue.

GENEVA BIBLE 1599
1Co 13:13 And nowe abideth faith, hope and loue, euen these three: but the chiefest of these is loue.

HEBREW - Salkinson Ginsburg 1886
1Co 13:13 וְעַתָּה תַעֲמֹדְנָה שְׁלָשׁ־אֵלֶּה אֱמוּנָה תִּקְוָה וְאַהֲבָה וְהַגְּדֹלָה בָהֵן הִיא הָאַהֲבָה׃
1Co 13:13 And now the three of these will stand, faith, hope and love, and the greatest of them is love.

HEBREW - Delman Delitzsch 1890
1Co 13:13 ועתה שלש־אלה תעמדנה האמונה והתקוה והאהבה והגדולה שבהן היא האהבה׃
1Co 13:13 And now these three will stand, faith and hope and love and the greatest of them is love.

Now let us look at what some later bible translations did to the greatest of all words - LOVE

DOUAY RHEIMS 1582
1Co 13:13 And now there remain faith, hope, and charity, these three: but the greatest of these is charity.

KING JAMES 1611
1Co 13:13 And now abideth faith, hope, charitie, these three, but the greatest of these is charitie.

KJV Modern
1Co 13:13 And now abideth faith, hope, charity, these three; but the greatest of these is charity.

slide_11.jpg

charity


noun: charity; plural noun: charities

  1. an organization set up to provide help and raise money for those in need.
    "the charity provides practical help for homeless people"
    synonyms: non-profit-making organization, non-profit organization, not-for-profit organization, voluntary organization, charitable institution; the body of organizations viewed collectively as the object of fundraising or of donations.
  2. the voluntary giving of help, typically in the form of money, to those in need.
    synonyms: financial assistance, aid, welfare, relief, financial relief, funding; More
    antonyms: selfishness
    help or money given to those in need.
  3. kindness and tolerance in judging others.
    synonyms: goodwill, compassion, consideration, concern, kindness, kindliness, kind-heartedness, tenderness, tender-heartedness, warm-heartedness, brotherly love, love, sympathy, understanding, fellow feeling, thoughtfulness, indulgence, tolerance, liberality, decency, nobility, graciousness, lenience, leniency;
    antonyms: meanness

love


noun: love; plural noun: loves

  1. an intense feeling of deep affection.
    synonyms: deep affection, fondness, tenderness, warmth, intimacy, attachment, endearment;
    antonyms: hatred
  2. a strong feeling of affection and sexual attraction for someone.
    synonyms: besotted with, infatuated with, enamoured of, love-struck by, smitten with, passionate about, with a passion for, consumed with desire for;
    noun: Love
  3. a great interest and pleasure in something.
    synonyms: liking, weakness, partiality, bent, leaning, proclivity, inclination, disposition;
  4. a person or thing that one loves.
    synonyms: beloved, loved one, love of one's life, dear, dearest, dear one, darling, sweetheart,
    noun: a love

Aramaic Bible in Plain English

1 Corinthians 13:1 If I shall speak with every human and Angelic language and have no love in me, I shall be clanging brass or a noise-making cymbal.
2 And if I have prophecy, and I know all mysteries and all knowledge and if I have all faith so that I may remove mountains, and I have no love in me, I would be nothing.
3 And if I should feed everything that I have to the poor, and if I hand over my body to be burned up and I have no love in me, I gain nothing.
4 Love is patient and sweet; love does not envy; love is not upset neither puffed up.
5 Love does not commit what is shameful, neither does it seek its own; it is not provoked, neither does it entertain evil thoughts,
6 Rejoices not in evil, but rejoices in the truth,
7 Endures all things, believes all things, hopes all, bears all.
8 Love never fails; for prophecies shall cease, tongues shall be silenced and knowledge will be nothing;
9 For we know partially and we prophesy partially,
10 But when perfection shall come, then that which is partial shall be nothing.
11 When I was a child, I was speaking as a child, I was led as a child, I was thinking as a child, but when I became a man, I ceased these childish things.
12 Now we see as in a mirror, in an allegory, but then face-to-face. Now I know partially, but then I shall know as I am known.
13 For there are these three things that endure: Faith, Hope and Love, but the greatest of these is Love.

In the above scriptures, the word Love has been replaced by the word Charity in many modern bibles.

Another look at why the word "Charity" is wrongly used, DRB version.

1Co 13:3 And if I should distribute all my goods to feed the poor, and if I should deliver my body to be burned, and have not charity, it profiteth me nothing.
1Co 13:4 Charity is patient, is kind: charity envieth not, dealeth not perversely, is not puffed up,

If you just gave all your goods to feed the poor, that was charity. This is one reason why the word Charity should have not been changed from "LOVE".

1Co 13:3 And if I should distribute all my goods to feed the poor, and if I should deliver my body to be burned, and have not love, it profiteth me nothing.
1Co 13:4 Love is patient, is kind: love envieth not, dealeth not perversely, is not puffed up,

love.JPG

Maybe the real reason for changing the original word from Love to Charity, is in the intent?

Although Charity is a form of Love, it could also be used as a money-making teaching for the Churches!

I recommend Biblehub as a great source for comparing scriptures... https://biblehub.com/



Join up at Steemdunk for Auto-Voting and Curation:     steemdunk   -   


More End Times Information:
https://godcoin.gold/
http://torah-codes.net/
http://www.ra-el.org/

follow me!

Sort:  

Public Charity is actually a way of advertising.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

That's a good catch. There are so many cases where things are changed, yet many are unaware of them.

Beautiful truth

Love

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 37.65% upvote from @bdvoter courtesy of @prime-cleric!

Delegate your SP to us at @bdvoter and earn daily 100% profit share for your delegation & rewards will be distributed automatically daily.

500 SP, 1000 SP, 2500 SP, 5000 SP, 10000 SP.

If you are from Bangladesh and looking for community support, Join BDCommunity Discord Server & If you want to support our service, please set your witness proxy to BDCommunity.