Seeker Friendly or God Friendly? Thoughts of a Missionary

Php 2:15 That ye may be blameless and harmless, the sons of God, without rebuke, in the midst of a crooked and perverse nation, among whom ye shine as lights in the world; Php 2:16 Holding forth the word of life; that I may rejoice in the day of Christ, that I have not run in vain, neither laboured in vain.

Looking out into Space
Afraid to see another face
Going throughout the entire day
Difficulties treating with a “Hey”

As you can see my poetry is lacking, but my poem comes from my recent visit to Melbourne Australia. Don’t get me wrong, I met many great people and, I believe have made some life long friend. But like most cities I have been to, people avoid eye contact. They are looking into some imaginary focal point where no one meets eye to eye with a stranger.

As God’s People we must be different.

E351A074-1E48-4BA5-B52D-1D04B3B7BFE3.jpeg
I took this photo in the Philippines with my Huawei Nova 2i

As I was in Melbourne Australia for only 11 days, I went out each morning for a run and to get a nice coffee. As I met people along the way I would greet them with a smile and a cheerful “Good Morning!”

Some would continue on like I never spoke, but many were surprised, smiled and greeted me back. Some would even begin a conversation with me. As each day progressed, more and more people said hello. Even when I missed a person with my own greeting, some would greet me.

THIS REALLY IS NOT AN EARTH SHAKING STORY, BUT I AM TRYING TO MAKE A POINT. GOD’S PEOPLE ARE CALLED TO BE DIFFERENT.

Rom 12:2 And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.

During **my morning walk I prayed with 6 people as they gave their hearts to Christ

I am in no way attracting attention to myself. But what I am trying to do is encourage all of God’s people to let their light shine before men. We all can do the same thing. So many times we are trying to be like the rest of the world. “Seeker Friendly”. But it is not us befriending the ways of the world and making the lost feel comfortable. It is our differences that really make a positive effect on our world.

Jesus was and Is the most Unique and Different person the World has ever Experienced

Jesus is our example. He may have spent time with sinners, but only to reach them. He never joined in their sin. He never compromised to reach someone. He set the parameters and it was up to the person to conform.

In our generation of Mega Churches and seeker friendly services, it is my belief that these have not produced a huge harvest of souls coming to Christ, but only people joining a club. No different than being part of the Elks, Moose, Rotary Clubs

I RECENTLY HEARD A SERMON THAT WAS SPOKEN TO AN AUDIENCE OF ABOUT 400 PEOPLE. THE MESSAGE...GOD WANTS YOU TO BE RICH. GOD WANTS YOU TO HAVE AN AIRPLANE. GOD WANTS YOU TO HAVE AS MUCH SILVER AND GOLD THAT YOU POSSIBLY WANT. THEN AN ALTAR CALL TO THOSE WHO WANT TO BECOME A CHRISTIAN

In my opinion, not one soul got saved in this meeting. People only joined a club. No cross preached. No cost for following Christ. No repentance.

1Co 1:18 For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God.

We must preach Christ Crucified

Not Seeker Friendly but God Friendly

2Co 6:14 Be ye not unequally yoked together with unbelievers: for what fellowship hath righteousness with unrighteousness? and what communion hath light with darkness?
2Co 6:15 And what concord hath Christ with Belial? or what part hath he that believeth with an infidel?
2Co 6:16 And what agreement hath the temple of God with idols? for ye are the temple of the living God; as God hath said, I will dwell in them, and walk in them; and I will be their God, and they shall be my people.
2Co 6:17 Wherefore come out from among them, and be ye separate, saith the Lord, and touch not the unclean thing; and I will receive you,
2Co 6:18 And will be a Father unto you, and ye shall be my sons and daughters, saith the Lord Almighty.

We are not supposed to be like the people of the world at all. It is our differences that will change this dark and lost world. We are the salt of the earth. We are the light of the world. We are Ambassadors of the Kingdom and we live to please One!

Thoughts of a Missionary
Daddy William

4C8B37A2-9414-45BC-9CD7-DD98D0A7FEEC.png

Sort:  

I appreciate your post! You are correct that a lot of the time, nothing is spoken about the price Christ paid for us, that we are to take up our cross and follow Him. He never said life would be easy or not messy, but He did say He would be there with us. It is through the trials we face that faith comes. Through Christ everything is possible!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Amen! Thank you for your right on and valuable comment!

Great comments! Thank you!

Hows the membership of steemchurch philippines, atleast as a steem group?

Posted using Partiko iOS

The membership is growing but slowly. Hopefully it is like when I joined steemit. Grew slow in the beginning, but took off over time. I am interested in any suggestions on making it not only grow, but be a blessing to the Filipino community! Thanks!

Congratulations @sc-philippines! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hello my friend! :D

I actually really enjoyed your poem and the rest of your post. :D

God bless you, your wonderful family, and your ministry. :D Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! :D

Why thank you! God bless you my dear friend!

You're welcome! :D God bless! :D