MY STEEMIT JOURNEY AND ALL I HAVE LEARNT FROM THE PLATFORM.

in #steemclassof20186 years ago (edited)

As I write this post, the date is 16th August, 2018. I joined steemit on January 2018, which means I have been on the platform for close to 7 months now. Apart from the fact that the making of this post was motivated by the #steemclass2018 contest by @kabir88, I decided to use it also as an inspiration to newbie steemians, so that they can be encouraged to continue with their passion, even in the face of little (financial) results to show.

class2018.jpg




In 2017, November to be precise, I was experiencing a lot of depression. I had difficulty graduating from the university because of financial reasons. I lost most of the friends I had at the time, which made me realize they were not real friends.

By January of 2018, I got introduced to steemit by @gabrielinnocent. I needed a platform where I could communicate with people, and also make some money while doing it.

So, after getting my account activated I started to explore the platform to see how possible it was to make money on the platform, and also to get myself accustomed to the way the platform operated.

To be sincere, I experienced people who were very nice and warm. I got to realize that the steemit platform was one where people talked less foully towards others. Even when they wanted to criticize, they did it constructively and with as much respect.

The steemians I met were really supportive, and corrected errors I made in a way that was respectful. I really loved the platform, not just because of the possibility of making money, but also because of the different interesting posts which I learnt alot from, and which were also very interesting.

Sincerely, the more time I spent reading posts, the more I wanted to read. I got really addicted to the platform. It was a very efficient way of keeping my mind away from the challenges around me. Whatever topic I wanted to read on, I just had to locate the category and then enjoy a lovely read.

Thank God for the help of contests like #steemclass2018, I was able to earn some money even as I continued to learn from the platform.



10 things I have learnt during my steemit experience


  • Steemit has improved my self esteem

I previously talked about the depression I had prior to joining steemit. After coming out of my shell, and reading a lot of posts on the topic of handling depression and self-esteem, I gradually started to get better and better. Now I can boldly say that I have a better self-esteem.

  • Steemit helped me make amazing friendships and contacts

Upon joining I had very few friends. But with steemit, I got privileged to meet really nice people, I became acquainted with people who shared the same interests as I did. We even got to exchanging contacts.

  • Steemit helped me be myself

With the help of steemit, I learnt to be myself. I saw different people on the platform, who aired their views not minding who was listening. Unlike Facebook, you were mindful of what you said because your friends were people who knew you personally. But on Steemit, I could say what was truly in my mind, being myself.

  • Steemit helped me become more knowledgeable about charities, and also made it easy for me to participate.

Steemit has made participation in charities easier and also easily accessible. You don’t have to have millions of dollars, or to worry about how to send your funds over. With any amount of steem or SBD, you can participate in charity, and sending your steem or SBD is quick and easy.

  • Steemit has taught me about cryptocurrencies.

Through steemit, I have learnt a lot about cryptocurrencies. Through the various posts on cryptocurrencies I read regularly, I have become really informed about crypto, and I have made some profits from my crypto investments.

  • Steemit has taught me patience.

While reading people’s post, I have monitored some writers, going to their blogs, only to find out that despite the fact that they make little money from their posts, yet they keep writing daily. They keep posting even with little upvotes on their post. This has taught me patience.

  • Steemit has brought more fun to my life

I recently participated in a contest where we were asked to embark on a walk in a beautiful place, or cook a healthy desert. Prior to steemit, I never did such things. Now I have a reason to enjoy myself while earning funds.

  • Steemit has taught me discipline

Prior to steemit, I was always a procrastinator. I found no motivation to do this. But with the help of steemit, I now set goals for myself, goals like number of posts to read, comments to give, researches to make, and so on.
Now, this discipline reflects on other areas of my life. I now have a Job, and my life has become better

  • Steemit has helped me to grow and learn on a daily basis.

Through steemit, I have learnt so much in various areas of life, from cooking, to cryptocurrencies, to art, to dance, and so on. I have grown tremendously in various areas of my life, and it has been a wonderful experience.

  • Steemit has resurrected the desire to fulfil my dreams

Through steemit, I have read tremendous amount of stories of people who in the face of adversities, were still able to overcome them and fulfil their destinies. Without steemit, I would not have gone online to read such stories. But now, I have read them, and I have been blessed.


Finally, I must thank some people who have been of tremendous help to me during my steemit journey thus far. They are @gabrielinnocent @lucyc @georgechukwu @stellastella @toofunnymemes @michael11 and finally @kabir88 for bringing up a wonderful contest as this. All the best.

For information you can visit the tag #steemclassof2018


Sort:  

thanks for your entry to the competition @oma25!

one small thing, the tag is #steemclassof2018, but your version sounds better lol. But for now, can you update it so it's easy to find if anyone searches for all the entries?

Okay, no problem, I'll do that right away.

Congratulations @oma25! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @oma25! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!