Verification Badges

in #steemcleaners6 years ago (edited)




We are proud to announce a new initiative between ourselves and the @steemitboard. Some of you already noticed you got a new badge on your Steemitboard and in your comments.

What is the Steemitboard?

The Steemitboard is a service that grants users a variety of participation badges. These badgest can be found on each individual's board located at http://steemitboard.com/@steemcleaners. There are two parts to every board, the Awards on the left and the Personal on the right.

If you have taken the time to verify your profile with the @steemcleaners, your new badge either has appeared on the right Personal side or will soon appear on it.

What does it mean to be verified?

A verified user is an individual of any degree of notoriety who verifies their Steem account as in fact belonging to the person they claim to be. Due to numerous and increasing cases of ID theft and ID deception, every person who claims to be an individual with a digital presence will require verification.

Some examples of verified users:

  • a website owner who links their Steem account from their website
  • an Instagram blogger who adds the URL to their Steem account from their profile
  • a YouTube vlogger who mentions their Steem account in a video

Getting verified is a simple and rewarding process. Not only are you letting the Steem community know that you are who you say you are, but you also get a badge to showcase now.


You can see all the other verified users by clicking on the badge link.

How does one get verified?

You can become verified either by replying to a @sariel request for verification or by contacting a member of the @steemcleaners team.

Remember, those @sariel comments aren't posted by bots! Reply to them to get verified and you will get your badge.

Failing to verify your account while claimining to be a person with a digital presence signifies to us and to the Steem community that you appropriated someone else's identity or fabricated your profile based on their information, work or photographs.

Does being verified mean that the user is a good Steemian who only posts original content?

No. Verification is only limited to the identity of the account-holder. Their conduct on the Steem blockchain is unrelated.

For example, if you see a Cheetah blacklist comment on a post by a user with a verification badge, that means they were caught for plagiarism, copy/pasting, image theft or some other serious string of abuses.

What is identity theft?

Identity theft is making a Steem account with the intent to assume the idenity of that individual. It is typically done in order to profit of another person's work, art, or reputation.

For example, pretending to be a known travel blogger is a common type of identity theft on Steem. Another very common form of identity theft is locating a social media profile for a young woman and making a Steem account based on her information and pictures.

Identity theft can have very serious implications on its victims.

What is identity deception?

Identity deception is fabricating a fake persona based on a combination of fiction and real information/pictures.

For example, identity deception is taking a picture of a random person or even friend and then creating a fake identity for them. Sometimes scammers went as far as tricking strangers to hold pieces of paper with "Steemit" written on it in order to create false profiles.

In some other cases, scammers take pictures of individuals who look similar to themselves and post them in order to create desirable content; for example, a post about working out at the gym.


Do you have specific topics that you'd like @steemcleaners to address and clarify in our future posts? Let us know in the comments.

Sort:  

Ok

I think that verification system will progress Steemit platform. But, I can't able to do to verify my steem account. So, explain me clearly. Thank a lots!

To verify your account what you need to do is take your Facebook, Twitter or anything else you have and use it to post a link to your Steemit account. What this does is let us know that you are the legitimate owner of the social media accounts and any time you share content from there (providing its your own content like photographs you took) it won't be seen as plagiarism of that account.

Thank you for your answer. I posted verification badge post. Please, say me what I do is right?
Verification badge post link is below;
https://steemit.com/steemcleaners/@billionairehein/verification-badge-post-to-steemcleaners-and-steemitboard

I verified you and you'll get your badge just as soon as the steemitboard updates itself.

Thank a lots for verification. Try my best.

How do I make such post, is it that I should tag @sariel when making the post, I have my social link on my profile

Could you guys verify me please? @pattoounlimited Keep up the great work!!

Do you have a social media account/professional site for your art that you can link your Steemit account to for the verification?

I thought my instagram link was on my blog page. Instagram/pattoounlimited is where you can find me. Thanks for getting back at me!

Man you've got some nice art. Just add a link to your Steemit page from your Instagram and all good to go.

Not seeing it on the blog page... Weird. Its registered in my settings and everything seems in order.

I really think that this verification system could be amazing for the steem community. If done correctly, this could change the game. Glad you two projects are working together and actually improving the atmosphere.

Once again, thanks for that first comment and for inspiring greatness.

Looking forward to getting verified!

You're verified now. Went through your profile and found your Twitter and publication links. Badge will be on your board soon.

Thanks! I’ve been busy and travelling, so hadn’t had time to get to anything much this past few days.

Thanks for the information sir.

This is a very good initiative as I believe it will really help curb identity theft and other forms of impersonation. I hope this can also help curb various fraudulent activities especially those being perpetrated on steemit.chat

I wish that was true but unfortunately this can't stop the impersonators in steem.chat. On the plus side, all of us who help moderate the chat are actively watching for scammers with evidently fake names.

Thanks very much for your moderation effort.

thank you for the information. now i already understand.

This is a very cool idea and I support you guys fully. You can verify my account using my Instagram. https://www.instagram.com/fire_desire_entertainment

Thanks, verified. That's all it takes. You'll get your badge soon.

I like verification system.

Rather than wait around can I be proactive and verify right now? My @holovision steemit profile links to holovision.tv and I just posted a message for you at http://www.holovision.tv/yes-this-is-my-steemit-account/ I hope this is sufficient. Thank you and please let me know if there is anything else you need.

Consider it done, getting it processed for you right now. You'll get your badge soon.

Thank you. I am relatively new to steemit and I am loving the experience. Keep up the good work identifying profiles so newbies like me can avoid stranger danger. :-)

Hi @steemcleaners,

We are new to the space and very excited with all that is going on! Thank you for the opportunity and awesome initiative.

Dear @sariel

We are @Layra a Mexican Crypto media helping people in spanish understand and use blockchain, bitcoin and alt´s in their lives and businesses.

We focus on helping people create their own criteria and avoid scams and fraud in the crypto ecosystem.

Please help us get verified, many many thanks!

Saludos from Mexico!

I verified your account, thank you. Since you're a media agency remember to always add source links just in case if you are reposting something. Your badge will be on your board soon.

Hi @guiltyparties, thank you very much! Good day!

Can you verify my account with facebook? if so, this is my account https://www.facebook.com/3lchoni Thank you very much, I await your response, regards

Can you add a link to your Steemit account off your Facebook please?

I would love to have my account verified! I like collecting badges! I post TO my facebook account from Steemit, not the other way around though. https://www.facebook.com/fleming.familyfarm

Done, you'll get your badge soon.

Good morning!!! I would like to be verified but little speaks English and I do not understand much how it is I must obtain the verficiacion I hope you can answer me, greetings and thanks

Done earlier today, thanks for messaging me on Discord.

You're all verified now and will get your badge soon.

Thanks for the nod. We are considering creating an automated post coming from steemhost.com. This will include statistics generated by the site.
Here is an early example of a post:
https://steemit.com/test/@prishpan/20180615t124445695z

The list of statistics will increase and the message will have occasional human input. Part of what differentiates steemhost from steemit or busy is that if accepts advertising ... which in turn is shared with registered members and visitors to the pages. We want to have the information on this post to inform our users.

Would this be considered spamming?

bonjour, j'aime beaucoup votre initiative, mais comme je parle très mal anglais, je ne suis pas sur d'avoir bien fait pour être certifié. J'ai partagé mon dernier poste sur mon compte twitter, ça devrait me permettre d'être certifié? Merci d'avance pour votre réponse et longue vie à steemit

Hi😀It is a great and very important idea to verify the user, can I also verify please :)
https://www.facebook.com/AlexWorldCore
https://twitter.com/alex_worldead
Thank You)